Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


45 Chicago, IL Woman


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Everyone
  • Ages 36–55
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My details

Last online
Oct 6
5' 2" (1.57m)
Body Type
Agnosticism and laughing about it
Post grad
Might want kids
Has cats
English (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently), French (Fluently), Italian (Somewhat), Portuguese (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I tend to be drawn towards cultures different from my own. This has led to big life decisions, like spending varying chunks of time abroad (5 yrs in Montreal, 2 yrs in Paris, 1 yr+ in Madrid, a few months in Italy and Argentina), becoming fluent in several foreign languages, becoming a soul/jazz singer - as well as some more trivial preferences, like my affection for Middle Eastern rugs and antique Chinese furniture. It's also led to a split identity, since I am a Spanish professor by day and musician by night. This combo works great for me in some ways, since I love exercising both my intellectual/analytical sides and my creative/artistic sides. The downside though is that I have never felt able to devote myself 100% to either academia or music.

I'm looking for a guy with (ideally) a similar blend of intellectual and artistic interests, a goofy sense of humor in addition to a quick wit, intelligence, curiosity about the world, kindness, loyalty, integrity, and non-flakiness (and yeah, sex appeal too, of course!). I've become more fiercely progressive over the years as the Republican Party has continued to spiral to ever-greater depths of greed, intolerance, racism, misogyny, hypocrisy, contempt for facts and religious fanaticism, so if you're a fan of Fox News, uh... we're not going to get along! Just saying. ;)
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I recently became a co-author for the next edition of the textbook we use at my university, which is exciting. Right now I'm revamping a bunch of the courses I coordinate, so that's my current project. Musically I have not been as active as I would like, but am hoping to amp things up in that department soon...
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
learning languages, singing, debating. ;) Some things I'm really bad at: directions (I get lost even with my GPS), driving (so my screaming friends say), math, sports.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Dunno. You tell me!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Wild Swans, Lord of the Rings, The End of Faith, Infidel. Honestly though, I'm a political junkie so I have not been much of a novel reader of late, tending to prefer news articles instead (The NY Times, New York Magazine, the New Yorker, The New Republic,, & are my reading staples)
Movies: Raising Arizona (still my favorite comedy), Pulp Fiction, Todo Sobre Mi Madre, Dangerous Liaisons, 12 Years a Slave, Django Unchained (to name a couple of more recent ones).
TV shows: Rachel Maddow (my girl crush even though I'm straight), Bill Maher, Jon Stewart (damn I am going to miss him!!), Chris Hayes. And of course, who doesn't love Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead and Game of Thrones? Totally addictive!
Music: Neo-soul, r&b, hip-hop and jazz are my thing: D'Angelo, Chaka Khan, M'shell N'dgeocello, Amel Larrieux, Donny Hathaway, Stevie Wonder, Prince, James Brown, Dianne Reeves, Sarah Vaughan, (the list goes on)...
Food: Home-made gnocchi and tortellini, NY-style pizza, Nutella, Kumato tomatoes, Nan bread, fresh berries, gazpacho, duck tacos, sushi... (the list goes on)...
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1) my family/friends
2) my ridiculously adorable cat
3) neo-soul, funk, jazz, blues
4) Wifi and my MacBook Air
5) carbohydrates
6) the color blue
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
how f**d up politics are in our country.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
hanging out with friends, or staying home cooking, taking a bubble bath, and chillin' with the aforementioned fuzzball.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Well if it were private I wouldn't trumpet it to the world on the internet, now would I?
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
any of this stuff strikes a chord with you.