Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ibmikeb

37 M New York, NY

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
How about a selection from the cabinet of curiosities, instead:

Born and raised in the Lower East Side; taught elementary school for a while in the Bronx, and middle school in Harlem; went into the grocery store the other night with every intention of preparing a healthy dinner and walked out with tortilla chips, a tub of fresh made guacamole, and some Klondike bars--this is ok, yes?; farmed in El Salvador for a bit; the original Muppet Movie soundtrack is indelibly etched in my brain; I have a thing for bad puns; I get goosebumps when the NYC skyline first comes into view on the NJ turnpike.

Less curiously: teaching polisci at a local college, and researching and writing for a living. I keep busy by spending time with my family and friends, seeing movies and visiting museums, hitting up music clubs, exploring new restaurants, hiking in the woods, or reading. I do that a lot.

For what it’s worth, I prefer Goodfellas to The Godfather, the Yankees to the Mets, the Left to the center, Coltrane to Kenny G (yeah, I get that this isn't exactly drawing a line in the sand), the British Office to the American, Digable Planets to 50 Cent, red wine to white, The Simpsons to Family Guy, Ben and Jerry’s to Haagen-Dazs (on most days), Zadie Smith to Jonathan Franzen, the East Coast to the West (usually).
What I’m doing with my life
I teach, research, and write about international relations, and edit a magazine that covers the literature, art and politics of war zones.

Also, travelling, as much as possible. Recent trips have been to Lebanon, Guyana, Egypt, Greece, Turkey, Iraq. Just got back from Amsterdam, and it was good.
I’m really good at
Packing light and traveling far. Finding excellent food at little holes in the wall. Writing. Napping. Spending troublingly large amounts of money on records.
The first things people usually notice about me
I don't pop molly, I rock Rob Ford. Oh, wait. Ew.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Recently finished reading Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah and am now deep in Rachel Kushner's Flamethrowers, which is some kind of brilliant, though I'm not sure which.

Others in the not-distant past--John Jeremiah Sullivan's essay collection Pulphead (each one is just about perfect), and Hari Kunzru's Gods Without Men. Long-time favorites include: pretty much everything by J. M. Coetzee, Robert Walser, and David Sedaris.

Movies: Star Wars, the original Muppet movies, the original Taking of Pelham One, Two, Three, Talk to Her, Shawshank Redemption, My Life As A Dog, Gregory's Girl, it goes on and on...

Music: Jazz, soul, rap and rock. Orchestra Baobab. I recently discovered that this--http://www.davidzwirner.com/exhibition/stan-douglas-12/--will make your soul groove.

Food: I'll eat anything, and probably like it.
The six things I could never do without
Family
Old friends
New Lands
Radical freedom
Discovery
Delight
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Whether alligators alligate.
On a typical Friday night I am
Savoring food, drinks, and the company of friends. Struggling with a sentence. Exploring the Met after hours. Enjoying live music. Converting headlines into footnotes. Settling in for a movie marathon.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I like licking the batter off those electric mixer twirly things. That, and I stole some office supplies once.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 30–42
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You dare. *dum dum DUM*