Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ilovenyc-24

64 New York, NY Woman

Woman

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 60–69
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 11:34pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 4″ (1.63m)
Body Type
Average
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
$80,000–$100,000
Status
Single
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
If you're a creative, independent, energetic and affectionate man who already has a lot on your plate - but is missing that particular entree called a significant other... we could be a good match! In you I hope to find a new best friend, confidant, and lover with whom to share life’s joys – and, if need be, its downsides. A great sense of humor is a big plus, as well as being socially-concerned, adventurous and open-minded.

I hope we can explore mutual passions (or learn new ones from each other) and be there for each other but also allow leeway to do our own things. I’m now 64, which seems a bit preposterous, since I have a daughter still in college - and I’m anything but a retiring type!

A bit of background: I own a walking tour business, focusing on ethnic food in NYC. I've worked in education and journalism. I've written several books. Currently, as a career changer, I'm a special education “resource room” teacher. The job is satisfying and, luckily, close enough to home that I can ride my bike to work. I love having long summers off and always take time to travel. I recently returned from a short trip to Medellin - an beautiful city that has emerged with pride and progress from the horrors and losses of its violent past. I hope you also enjoy diverse types of destinations!

I love to read, cook, travel, go to movies and see LOTS of theater. I’m a jazz fan and love almost anything having to do with NYC, especially exploring neighborhoods. I enjoy hosting dinners for friends.

In my partner I hope for someone who’s a mensch, loves music, theater and reading, whether it's the New York Times, the New Yorker, fiction, non-fiction. (My current favorites include Isabel Wilkerson's remarkable "The Warmth of Other Suns" and Colum McCann’s brilliant “Let the Great World Spin.”) To me, a great book is like a gourmet meal: I love the different courses as I move through a delicious book and savor the feeling that comes with finishing it. But I also feel sad when the “meal” is over and I hunger for second helpings from that author.

FYI – I live in northern Manhattan, near beautiful Fort Tryon Park. I don’t have a car, so mass transit and bicycle are my modes of transportation!

Two more things: Please don’t contact me if you live far away. I’m not interested in a long-distance friendship/relationship. And please tell the truth. I don't lie about my age (and it probably works against me. Sigh.) So please don't lie about yours. Thank you!
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I support my daughter and myself (and my passions) by working as a special education resource room teacher, which means that I work with small groups of students with learning disabilities. I'm in my 14th year of teaching (with retirement plans looming close) and preceded that with a range of writing, editorial and research jobs, with a four-year "intermission" living in South Africa (where I was able to do a fair amount of writing). I publish an occasional newsletter and blog related to food and neighborhoods in New York City and take lots of photos! I love to swim! I enjoy the freedom of the empty nest - but am also intimidated by it and am always very happy when my daughter comes home to visit. She's in college in a nearby city so I can see her fairly often.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
exploring, writing about, and leading food-themed walking tours in NYC's ethnic neighborhoods as part of a business I created 16 years ago. My book about NY food, entitled Nosh New York, was published by St. Martin's Press in 2003. While I'd love to update it, this probably won't happen because of the proliferation of food blogs... sigh. I'm very much into the idea of food as a gateway to new cultures - and a way to foster peace. So my tours also include history and culture.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have no idea. Ask them!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Andre Schwarz-Bart's "The Last of the Just" was my first favorite book as an adult (I loved Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle books as a child); more recent favorites include Colum McCann's masterpiece "Let The Great World Spin," Michael Chabon's "The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay" and Joseph O'Neill's "Netherland"; all-time favorite movie is Paul Mazursky's "Next Stop, Greenwich Village." My favorite Broadway play is "Jerusalem," which was in NYC in 2011, starring the remarkable Mark Rylance (I saw it three times), and I'm a fan of the musical "Finian's Rainbow," which surprised me with its political depth and brilliant lyrics. In early 2015 I was captivated by the brilliant play "The Curious Incident of the Dog At Nighttime," which i made a point of seeing twice, once with its star, another time with the regular understudy, who was excellent!
Food: Take me to an ethnic neighborhood of NYC and I'll take you to the best eateries... or surprise me with your own favorites (or your cooking!). Not interested in so-called "in" neighborhoods; have never eaten in "hipster" Williamsburg but do know the delis and shops in kosher Williamsburg!
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
NOT in order - here are SEVEN!

1. Being a mom to my wonderful daughter
2. A great guy to be a best friend & more!
3. New York City & opportunities to travel to other world cities
4. My bicycle
5. Sunshine
6. Time
7. Friends who are always there for each other!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
... how to finish all the things I want to do, including reading books, seeing theater, creating photo essays, exploring NYC, my next trip, seeing my daughter through to happy, stable adulthood..

... giving away lots of stuff I don't have the heart to give away. (I'm not a hoarder but I am very sentimental so I hold on to things that I should have given away long ago.)

... finding the right person to share life with!
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
... there is no "typical" Friday night. Sometimes it's "happy Friday" with my colleagues. Other times it's going out to dinner with friends in one of NYC's great neighborhoods. Still other times it's going to MOMA, theater or movies... and other times it's coming home, reading, vegging out and making sure I see the Friday night edition of Rachel Maddow!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
... not in writing!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you've read my profile thoroughly and feel that we truly share similar values, experiences and goals. No response if you live far away and/or have clearly not read about who I am. Ditto if you can't write a good grammatical sentence and/or clearly have not taken the time to proof-read! Also, please be honest about your age and your situation (job, family, etc.). The truth will come out at some point if you're not. It's a waste of time if you can't follow these simple requests. I realize that I'm probably losing out on meeting great guys because I'm in my 60s, but I believe honesty is essential in a good relationship, and I really hope to find just one amazing person whose life I can enhance and who will enjoy being my partner.