Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

james_arnold

27 M London, United Kingdom

My Details

Last Online
Today – 1:16am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 5″ (1.96m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm very interested in understanding the world, and our place in it. A short list of subjects I'm interested in would include: philosophy, psychology, politics, history, economics, literature, linguistics, mental health, and science.

I'm extremely open and direct: indeed, people are often surprised by how open I am. I like company and socialising, but need alone time to reflect and feel centred. I have quite a laissez-faire (live and let live) attitude to most things, but I also have a strong sense of social conscience and moral principle. I'm much more of a pub person than a club person.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently working on a PhD in Philosophy, with the aim of going into an academic job. Philosophy is my ruling passion in life – it's what I go to sleep and wake up thinking about.

I'm also very involved in political activism for a more democratic and just economic system and society more generally. In broad terms, I identify as a libertarian socialist (if you're interested what that means, just ask!).

Other than that, I try to experience as much of London's cultural and social life as possible.
I’m really good at
Playing the guitar, which I've been doing more than half my life! I'm also told by friends that I'm very good at listening to and comforting people, which is nice.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm very tall (6ft 5in, seeing as you asked). Also, I currently have a beard, which gets some attention.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Novels: The Grapes of Wrath (Steinbeck); Homage to Catalonia (Orwell); Nineteen Eighty-Four (Orwell again); An Instance of the Fingerpost (Pears); The Brothers Karamazov (Dostoyevsky); Anna Karenina (Tolstoy); Never Let Me Go (Ishiguro); The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Conan Doyle)

Non-fiction: Too many to list, but here are a few social, political and philosophical authors that have shaped and reshaped the way I view the world: Karl Marx; J.J. Rousseau; David Hume; Immanuel Kant; Pierre-Joseph Proudhon; Mikhail Bakunin; Peter Kropotkin; Rosa Luxembourg; Emma Goldman; Rudolf Rocker; Noam Chomsky; Howard Zinn; Eduardo Galeano; Amartya Sen; Bertrand Russell... to be continued

Films: I think I can do this more neatly by genre, so here goes...
Comedy — Withnail and I
Drama — The Wind That Shakes the Barley
Romantic — Casablanca
Sci-fi — 2001: A Space Odyssey
Fantasy — Pan's Labyrinth
Animation — The Studio Ghibli films (if you don't know what these are, you're in for a treat!)
Documentary — Nostalgia for the Light

TV: The X-Files (actually, I'm kind of weirdly obsessed with this show); Sherlock; Curb Your Enthusiasm

Music: Bach; The Beatles; Beethoven; Bonobo; Bright Eyes; Cinematic Orchestra; The Doors; Emmy the Great; Florence and the Machine; Jefferson Airplane; Jimi Hendrix; Joanna Newsom; Joni Mitchell; Laura Marling; Leonard Cohen; Ludivico Einaudi; Michael Nyman; Neutral Milk Hotel; Nirvana; Phillip Glass; The Pixies; Rage Against The Machine; Submotion Orchestra; Tom Waits

Food: All kinds, but my favourite is Italian. I'm also a pretty good cook (my dad was once a master-chef, so it must run in the family).
The six things I could never do without
1) My close friends
2) My guitar
3) Books
4) Cheese (all kinds)
5) New experiences (I don't like things to become stale!)
6) The occasional drink
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The Central Questions of Philosophy. And whether I have enough cheese in the fridge.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hopefully in the pub!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't like this trend towards exhibiting one's private life all over the internet. So you'll have to find out by talking to me!
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 23–35
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You somehow like the sound of me from the above. If you do, I imagine there is a good chance I will like you too.