Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

jcs20902

51 Saint Paul, MN Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 30–55
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly other
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Pisces, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I think it's time for an update, or at least a little Spring cleaning of this profile. I finally felt the shift in the seasons when I biked over to Powderhorn for the May Day festival. That seems to have triggered some increased desire to make new connections.

A little background:
I moved to Minnesota from the east coast after grad school in the 90's and adopted this place. I love the outdoors. Depending on the season, you might find me outside the cities rock climbing, hiking, or sometimes canoeing in warm months. Cross-country skiing and some ice climbing come into play in the winter (though there was more indoor climbing at VE last winter). My whitewater kayak's been mostly gathering dust for a few seasons, but may make an appearance this year.

In town, I could be biking to Seward for my groceries or running along the river. I like to eat out quite a lot in town. My restaurant choices have strongly shifted to organic, fresh fare with a strong dose of ethnic cuisine.

Evenings when I'm out, I enjoy movies, plays, and live music. I'm particularly fond of the Riverview and the Guthrie. My musical tastes are broad, encompassing classical, swing, modern, bluegrass, but not country except very old work. At home, I like to read. I'm not a TV fan, though Netflix can suck me in. I am an NPR member/junkie for news and The Current.

There'd been a shift in focus for me about 2 years ago to give some additional support to my family. I've spent more weekends in town as a result. One positive result has been my ability to put a bit more energy into my community. This is evolving for me, but a more supportive, sustainable community is a desire.

I do like travel oriented vacations, sometimes for outdoor activities like rock climbing, sometimes simply to visit some part of the world with culture that's new to me.

That's a brief glimpse at what I like, what do I say about me? I'm more of a listener than a talker. I keep close relationships with family and friends. I'm approachable and pretty open in one on one conversations. I find writing what I am, rather than what I like, well... awkward. :-)

For the present, I'll say, if you'd like to know something about me, drop me a note and ask.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I've been learning about raw food and incorporating more of that in my diet. I've been moving toward a more vegetarian diet, but don't have plans to move there exclusively. A good friend gave me a dehydrator that I've been playing with. Kale chips and teriyaki sprouted almonds have substituted for junk food (most of the time ;-).

I mentioned sustainability earlier. I've been making incremental changes in my own life and home: some LED lighting, more biking errands, no lawn chemicals. Bike commuting to work got to a late start in 2014 with the late spring and road construction taking out the Warner Road bridge which was key to my old route.

I'm working on learning Spanish. Lunchtime classes and Pimsleur lessons on my phone have helped but I'm not fluent yet.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Figuring things out. An engineering PhD and 20 years of research will do that to ya.

Physical activities: be it climbing, running, biking, canoeing/kayaking and the like, I enjoy being outside. I'm a decent Ultimate player, more from persistence than great skill.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Twinkling eyes so I've been told.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I got hooked on the Patrick O'brian novels a few years ago and tore through them. I'm currently reading some non-fiction on raw food and non-violent communication.

For online video, I'll admit that my friend's 10 year old son is getting me hooked on the series, "Avatar The last Airbender."
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. Family and friends, perhaps not creative, but true.
2. Good, fresh food.
3. Time outdoors with some fun activity and friends.
4. My iPhone is becoming eerily indispensable
5. I hope the MPR transmitters never break.
6. I love the NYT crosswords, but need help to get past Thursday.
There's my stab at six. The first three are paramount, the latter three good to have.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
With the right partner, I'd like to create a family.
And... I sing in my car.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
..you'd like to know more about me or tell me about yourself; or perhaps you're looking for someone to do some mutually loved activities with.

Rock climbers get bonus points, but that's certainly not a requirement.