jesse51
62 Portland, OR
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
jesse51
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
"If the only tool you have is a hammer you tend to see every problem as a nail." I like that quote because it makes a good hammer and can apply to every situation.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm newly retired and look forward to working on neglected projects and doing some traveling. I just moved into a new house and am doing the remodeling myself. I also play league tennis at a 3.5 level.
I’m really good at
Tennis, computers and technology, patience, figuring out how things work, DIY projects, cooking, gardening, coffee roasting, puns and Dad humor.
The first things people usually notice about me
Most people notice my eyes and easy-going attitude.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I read mainly Sci-Fi and Fantasy books. The next book (ebook) I'm planning to read though is 'Prey for Zion', a mystery.

Movies: I like all kinds of movies, even 'B' movies. Monty Python, Princess Bride, Mystery Men, Galaxy Quest, Indiana Jones, Toy Story, Lord of the Rings to name a few. I do enjoy romantic comedies, but not too many in a row.

Shows: Since I cut the cable and now only have internet, I've been exploring Netflix and Hulu, binging on shows. I just finished The Tomorrow People.

Music: I'm partial to 60-70s Rock-n-Roll. Who, Doors, ELP etc. I now stream with Google Music and have built up a very good sound system for both movies and music. I like most music, but it has to be a particularly good Rap or Country for me listen.

Food: I like most anything and enjoy trying my hand at cooking different things. Three things you probably won't see me eating though are cooked spinach, beets and oysters.

Other: I like playing video games, especially with my daughters. I like Datsun Z cars. I also enjoy craft beer and coffee.
The six things I could never do without
Family
Coffee (I roast my own)
Chocolate
Computer/Internet
Tennis
Companionship
Friends
My ability to count and follow directions
Note, this is an unordered list and probably not complete.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I will be doing in retirement. Also love and relationships. Hmm, I think about a lot of things: new house possibilities, my kids, my dog, my unfinished projects.
On a typical Friday night I am
Now that I'm retired they are all Friday nights.
You should message me if
Message me just to say Hi, or if you want to start up a conversation. I'm easy to talk to.
More