32 Bloomfield, CT
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
In the space of 5 years, every single atom in your body has been replaced. Enough said.
What I’m doing with my life
Working in public health as a Certified Nurse Midwife. Paying off my student loans. Trying to figure out what it means to have a normal life, now that I am finally done with school. (Done for now, at least)

I am a clinician at Planned Parenthood, and am unabashedly proud of the work we do. Not interested in dating someone who has a problem with that.
I’m really good at
my job. school. and many other equally important things, like making pickled green beans.
The first things people usually notice about me
My slightly reticent personality. I both love and hate meeting new people.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I LOVE TO READ. I will not attempt to list all my favorite books. There are too many. Just finished Pillars of the Earth for the millionth time. Other perennial favorites include but are not limited to the Island Within, anything by Isaac Asimov, the Ender books, LotR, cook's illustrated magazine and the Journal of Midwifery and Women's Health. I have bookshelves in every room in my house and I adore my local library (interlibrary loan, best thing since the discovery of fermented barley malt.)

My second favorite media is radio. Radiolab 360, This American Life, Wait Wait Don't Tell Me, Snap Judgment, etc. Public radio!

screen time- not a big movie fan. i guess i have a short attention span. I don't have a tv but I still find a way to watch battlestar galactica, louie, dr. katz, arrested development, home movies, etc. I also like watching mindless sciencey stuff on youtube with my kids- vsauce, smarter every day, veritasium etc. True Facts by Ze Frank.

music-Alaa Wardi. I cannot overstate my devotion to this man. Ben Gibbard, but only by himself. Thao Nguyen, The 1975, Van Morrison, David Grisman, Jens Lekman, the Band,. . . lots of other stuff. Also, I have kids, so I have developed a healthy appreciation for Taylor Swift and the like.

When I am looking for new music, the first place i go is NPR's tiny desk youtube station. I feel like that must say something about me, but I am not sure exactly what.

food- sriracha hot sauce (practically mandatory), beer, fresh-from-the-dirt carrots, tempeh sandwiches with saurkraut. Chickpeas are my favorite legume. This is important.

I keep trying to pare this section down, not that anyone reads these things anyway.
The six things I could never do without
Water, dirt, stars, warm blankets, time to myself, my family. Not in that order.

Also internet.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
our broken health care system and women's health in general, (being a midwife, it consumes a lot of my time), my kids, plants, the stars, the dirt beneath my feet. The seamlessness between myself and the rest of the universe.
On a typical Friday night I am
Home with my kiddos and/or extended family. Other appealing options include pitch black hiking, campfires (but not necessarily camping), or a quiet bar.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am bossy and a stick in the mud.

In lieu of a TV, my living room has a huge messy bookshelf overflowing with games. Yet, my kids still get too much screen time.
You should message me if
-you are a good man who is patient, kind and has a take-charge personality.
- you find things like this wildly interesting.
- you are intelligent, interesting and witty.
-you are an outdoorsy-type
-bonus points for being musically inclined, tall and/or having a wicked beard :)