Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

jmcclainiac

33 M Durham, NH

My Details

Last Online
Jul 21
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other
Sign
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and dislikes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a nice, laid-back, pretty smart guy. I like to think that I'm funny, mostly in a sarcastic way, but I take important things seriously. I love math and physics and know that I need my career to be in that realm, but I've found that in my personal time, I'm more and more drawn to more human issues and topics: justice, philosophy, sustainability, economics, literature, movies, music, etc. I'm kind of a deep thinker, and love discussing/mostly-calming debating any issue with a moral aspect.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm in my second grad program, this time a PhD program in Applied Math at UNH. I'm loving being back in an academic atmosphere, after working for a few years. I'm working on the computational analysis of the results of electron microscope experiments with the goal of studying materials that could improve electronics and energy technology. Eventually, I'd like to be at a DOE lab or a college/university.
I’m really good at
Well, academics have always been my strength, but I'm also a decent cook, and not bad at a variety of sports, with basketball a favorite. Out of a general pool, I'm a good trivia player, but I'm no expert, although I did win some money on a game show once. Oh, and I'm becoming an expert children's birthday party entertainer. My sister has had me do balloon animals and play Batman and Iron Man at my nephew's parties.
The first things people usually notice about me
Could be my height, but I like to think that my eyes and dimples leave an impression.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
This could be a long one.
Books/Authors: Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, Updike, White Noise, Palahniuk, Tolkien, Noam Chomsky, Steven Pinker
TV Shows: Portlandia, Community, Parks and Rec, Lost was great, The Wire was amazing, SNL, I've enjoyed The Firm, maybe I'm alone. I'm also a big basketball and football fan.
Music: Built to Spill, Iron and Wine, Andrew Bird, St. Vincent, Wolf Parade, Yeasayer, The Decemberists, Modest Mouse, Beulah, Brown Bird, ...
Food: I really love food. I like anything that's done well. Over the past few years, I've tried to eat much more humanely, which kills me sometimes because meat tastes so good, but I feel that it's pretty important. I'm not going to get into it, but I will say that I end up making exceptions because I love having new eating experiences.
Oh, and movies: Lars and the Real Girl, The Visitor, Win Win, Christopher Nolan Batman, Exit Through the Gift Shop, and some lighter stuff: Dumb and Dumber, Zoolander, Anchorman
The six things I could never do without
In no particular order:
Sneakers, skillet, wikipedia, family, music (Built to Spill, if I had to pick one band), the ocean
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Honestly, big issues in the world, and how to live the right way. Moral, economic, and sometimes political issues. But, I swear, I think about them in a fun way. I'm almost constantly planning my next meal, whether purchased or homemade.
On a typical Friday night I am
Fridays actually aren't usually my most exciting night, but on any given night, I might be playing IM sports, going to a movie or concert, enjoying a quality meal, working out, playing trivia.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–36
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you want a try out a new restaurant or
you want to see a movie at an independent theater (ok or a blockbuster) or
you want to find a way to watch the last couple episodes of Portlandia or
you want to go to the farmers market to buy stuff to cook an awesome meal or
you want to rent kayaks or take a bike ride.
I enjoy a lot of different activities, but I enjoy all of them more when shared with a beautiful woman.