Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

johng86

27 M Washington, DC

My Details

Last Online
Today – 6:37pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, but not too serious about it
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Banking / Finance
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I've been in DC for nearly 5 years, and work at an economic/financial consulting firm. Although I like what I do, I'm planning on applying to business school next year.

I grew up on Long Island and went to school in MA. Although DC is really starting to feel like home, my family and many friends are in the NYC area, and I'm seriously thinking about moving back in the next few years.

In my free time I play squash almost every day, work out at the gym, go fishing/hiking/target shooting (especially fly fishing for trout, which is my main passion), and explore new bars/restaurants/jazz venues. In particular I love checking out all of the great Chinese, Korean, and other ethnic restaurants in the suburbs.

I'm also a voracious reader (mostly nonfiction, especially political philosophy and economics though I'm starting to get back into fiction).

I love traveling too. I went to Vietnam and Cambodia a few years ago, but it's been a while since my last big trip. I may be going to India in early 2014. I've also been throughout Europe, but haven't spent much time in any one country.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm working at an economic/financial consulting firm in DC, and spend most of my time doing data analysis and statistical programming. It's generally quite interesting/relatively low stress, whereas my old job was much more of a typical stressful consulting environment. I'm pretty happy to not have to renege on plans or work on the weekends anymore. Have you seen those YouTube videos of monkeys that spent their entire life in a lab and then walked out into the sunlight for the first time, gazing upwards in joyful wonder? That's sort of how I felt after leaving my old job.

Long term, I want to transition into working in international development/public policy.
I’m really good at
Doing really well with questions relating to geography and old school hip hop at my weekly bar trivia night.
The first things people usually notice about me
My height, red hair, pithy bon mots, and striking resemblance to Conan O'Brien.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: A Confederacy of Dunces, Winter's Tale by Mark Helprin, 9 Stories, East of Eden, The Great Gatsby, Seneca's Letters (and other stoic philosophers), A Mathematician's Apology, Blood Meridian, Reflections on the Revolution in France, Shalom Auslander's essays. Also, lots of nonfiction, mostly related to finance/economics/politics. I like Bill Bryson's books quite a bit too.

Movies: Anything by Woody Allen (especially Annie Hall, Crimes and Misdemeanors, and Hannah & Her Sisters), the Marx Bros., Wes Anderson (especially Rushmore), Stanley Kubrick (especially Dr. Strangelove), Whit Stillman (Metropolitan, Barcelona). Also Mishima: A Life in Four Chapters, The Seven Samurai, Rashomon, There Will Be Blood, and lots of documentaries including Crumb, Dark Days, Fog of War, and Capturing the Friedmans. Also old classics like the Godfather (1 and 2), Lawrence of Arabia, etc.

TV: I don't watch any TV shows regularly. However, I do love watching Curb Your Enthusiasm and Louie on Netflix/iTunes. Also classic Simpsons, The Wire, Homicide: Life on the Street, and Monty Python's Flying Circus.

Music: Lately my interests haven't strayed far from classic hip hop (A Tribe Called Quest, De La Soul) and Jazz (Charlie Parker, Bill Evans, Art Tatum). I used to listen to a lot of indie rock (Neutral Milk Hotel, the Apples in Stereo, Built to Spill, Animal Collective) and punk (Minor Threat) but not so much anymore. I also like going out to DC's live music venues (Black Cat, Howard Theatre, 930 Club, Iota, Galaxy Hut, Velvet Lounge, Black Cat).

Food: Just about anything, especially good seafood, Thai, Chinese, and Korean.
The six things I could never do without
Gym, friends, family, a good book, some sort of outdoors activity to do regularly, sunblock (without which I would be covered in third degree burns upon going to the beach in the summer).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to make the money and set aside the time to do everything that I would like to do in life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Half the time: relatively low key dinner/drinks with friends. Other half: gym, Chipotle.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
In college I attended a "law and theorem" party, where you had to dress up as your favorite law or theorem.

I think Larry David is a good guy who's just misunderstood.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 18–28
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
- You're interested in going on ethnic dining adventures in the suburbs.
- You're looking for someone to watch pretentious movies with while pretending that we're not pretentious.
- You think that we can go get drinks after work or coffee or a Saturday afternoon without having too many awkward silences.
- Your profile includes some interests other than watching TV and going to brunch.
- I don't really believe in having deal breakers when it comes to dating, but the closest I have is being active. I go to the gym almost every day and really enjoy being outside, so significant bonus points if you're not a couch potato.

You think that these clips are funny:
http://youtu.be/Kqsda-1h_y8
http://youtu.be/THg_YZcUwyc
http://youtu.be/8qOaZ4CQqKI