Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

jplad

40 Jamaica Plain, MA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 18–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 5:52am
Orientation
Gay
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Hi there, so how about an update.Been a while since I updated, so now is the time, eh? (No, not Canadian, but some of my ancestors were!)

I'm a 39-yr old botanist (yes, one of those) living in Boston -- Jamaica Plain to be specific. I love this city for its pubs, museums, coffee shops, relative ease of getting around, and lots of other things. I spend a fair amount of time hiking and hanging at coffee shops, drinking beer with my friends at a local pub, wandering around the city, and lots of other things, including games of scrabble, good books, and decent movies. Oh, and of course I love trees.

I grew up in the midwest (Indiana), and have moved around a fair amount for schools and work. I suppose that makes me all-at-once a bit folksy (haha) and worldly. I like to participate in deep-thought conversations, as well as sassy and funny ones. I'm a bit of a news junkie -- I love NPR, and of course have to watch The PBS News Hour nightly, and of course Meet the Press every Sunday.

People often ask what it is I am looking for. I suppose I have no set thing -- I'm hopeful to meet nice, genuine people on here and see where it goes from there. I am very much in the mood to meet new friends, though I am always feeling guilty that I barely have time for the friends I currently have. On the other end of the spectrum, I'm not opposed to a long-term relationship either, should it get to that. I suppose for that to happen, we need to click pretty well, both deal with our idiosyncrasies (or at least mine), and be fairly local -- I've done and tried the long-distance thing several times, and don't think it is a successful venture. But, if you are from outside the Boston area, don't run away. One never knows?

I am plaid, corduroy, and green
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm loving my life, situating myself in Boston (moved here in 2007, just bought a house a few months ago), and spending lots of time with my job, which I also love. Still exploring the person I am, and interested in exploring others as well.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Holding genuine conversations, listening to others, trouble-shooting, brainstorming, talking about plants and other things.

I've typically been good at the things I throw myself at. I'm not sure if that is because I am just tenacious and work hard at those things, or if I only throw myself at things I have a pretty good idea I can pull off. :-)

That being said, there are many things I'm not the best at -- and I like that about me. I like being humbled, and it just further illustrates that I, along with everybody else, am a work in progress.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Blue Eyes. Silvery flecks of hair (started going silvery at 19).

I dunno, I'll have to ask others what the notice first. Maybe if you like what you read, and you meet me, you can tell me what you notice first.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I read a lot of non-fiction (history in particular, but also natural history and science) as well as fiction. Tolkien, Vonnegut and Ludlum top my list, as do many, many other authors. I suppose some of my favorite books: LOTR, Lonesome Dove, Galapagos, The Art of Happiness.

I like good dramas, exciting adventures, spoofy B movies on the Sci-Fi channel. If it is good, I like it, regardless if it came out last year or in 1945. A few of my favs: Excalibur, The Great Escape, Good Will Hunting, LOTR, To Have and Have Not, Memento, ...

I like music, of course, but it isn't a must have. I don't even own an i-pod! (Ok, that probably scared 98% of you away). As for who I might listen to if it isn't NPR: Rufus Wainwrigh, Joshua Bell, Rory Stitt, Postal Service...

Comfort food tides me over, but so do exotic flavors. There is a Thai place around the corner from me that I go to quite a lot, and when I'm not there, I'm often at the pub another block away, munching on pub grub.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1) Books
2) Camera
3) Notebook
4) Pen
5) Coffee
6) hmmmmm not sure... To be honest, I like to think of myself as not too materialistic, so maybe I don't really need these things at all.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
World events, the environment, my friends, unfinished experiments, articles I should write, projects for my house I should work on, the list goes on....
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Drinking a pint or two with friends at the pub, watching a movie on AMC or the SciFi channel, reading a book on my couch, or sipping coffee at a coffee shop while doing a sudoku.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I've a very rare, and pretty benign, movement disorder called paroxysmal kinesigenic dyskinesia. It isn't as bad as it sounds and very few people even have an idea I have it, though it isn't something I'm secretive about.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
I suppose if you have gotten this far, you get 2 stars. But, hopefully, there is 1) enough interest and 2) sufficient mystery for you to drop me a line.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!