Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


23 Portland, OR Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 20–30
  • Located anywhere
  • For new friends, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 8:41pm
6′ 3″ (1.90m)
Body Type
Strictly anything
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Graduated from university
Doesn’t have kids
Likes dogs
English (Fluently), German (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
April 2015: I ought to overhaul my profile, but it may take a while to give it a good spring clean. Please enjoy my ancient profile in the meantime.

I'm a Portland native who just recently got back from flying to Chile on a complete whim, and I just drove all the way down to the Bay Area from British Columbia after a week in Canada. July was South Africa; June was Australia; April was Alaska, and the month before that, I did the same with a week in Tokyo.
Most recently, I finished cycling around Europe last summer. I started in Madrid, circled the Iberian peninsula, through France, and Italy, through the Alps, to my final destination of Amsterdam.
Still, it's nice to be home.

You can see pictures from my ride around Europe and other travels on my Facebook profile, for those who are interested.

I've been told that I'm an ESTJ (Determined Realist), apparently. From what I've read, that seems pretty accurate. More recently, however, I've also heard ISTP (Individualistic Doer) to be fairly fitting. In that respect, I consider myself to somewhat oxymoronically be both a strong extrovert and a strong introvert.

Maybe I'll think of something clever to write here. Until then, here are the facts:
I recently graduated with a BS in Civil Engineering from the University of Portland. I'm 6'3" (190 cm), and I also cycle year-round. Let's just say that up to 10,000 miles a year keeps me in very good shape. I spent the summer of '09 cycling 2,500 miles solo around Washington and down the coast to Mexico for charity. In '10, I decided to cycle 4,200 miles solo across the country to NYC. In '13, I covered 5,600 km across 12 European countries.

Enough about me, why don't you contact me so I can get to know more about you?
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Like I said, I just graduated with my degree in Civil Engineering. In all that I am currently doing, I guess my main goal is the same: to learn and experience. Now to actually put that degree to use…
When it comes to actual work though, I'm currently enjoying my job getting paid to drink beer. Would you like to join me for a drink?
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Okay, I think I've driven home the bike part, right, so besides that, what else is there?

My best friends would say I'm a great conversationalist, both with friends, as well as strangers.

I have nearly photographic memory when it comes to maps. Let's just say I never get lost. A friend once told me, "You're better than Google Maps." I'd like to agree, at least for the Portland Metro Area.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm usually remembered as that outgoing tall guy with the name tag that cycles everywhere. People also seem to comment on and enjoy my unique choice of clothing and various accoutrements. I'm often described as looking ready to go camping at any opportunity. Awesomely enough, they're usually right.
Feel like joining me for a bike ride, hike, or camping trip while the weather is so nice?

An older woman once came up to me and told me, "Every time I see you walking around, I think you look like an archaeologist." I think I'll take that as a compliment.

What is something that people are surprised to find out about you?
I've been driving longer than I've been cycling regularly. At the same time, I ride more monthly than I've ever driven. Also, most people have no idea how old I am. Let's just say I drink alcohol for a living, and I've rarely been carded.

What kind of person are you attracted to?
Someone better, smarter than I am. You, perhaps?

How far will you travel to hang out with someone?
Well, I've cycled from Portland to the Seattle area in a day. Give me two weeks and I can meet you in Mexico. I managed to cycle across the country in six weeks on only a couple hundred dollars, so nothing is too far, but ideally, anyone in the Portland metropolitan area is a fantastic bet; if you're near a major airport, that works too.

What is your idea of a good time?
55 and sunny: cycling in the middle of nowhere, free from time constraints and worries.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
“Did I do anything wrong today," he said, "or has the world always been like this and I've been too wrapped up in myself to notice?”
― Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

My favorite movie, hands down, is The Graduate.
"Maybe I'm spending too much of my time starting up clubs and putting on plays. I should probably be trying harder to score chicks." —Max Fischer, Rushmore
Wes Anderson films are great too.

Looking at my recent iTunes plays, I've got Blind Pilot, The Decemberists, Beach Fossils, Arcade Fire, and the Shins featuring prominently, if that gives you a clue. The last month or so has featured quite a bit of Nirvana.

If you want detail, my favorites fall into a few categories
From the 60s: The Beatles, The Who, The Doors, The Animals, The Kinks, The Band, Bob Dylan, Simon & Garfunkel, and Jimi Hendrix.
I've got an original pressing of The Doors from 1967, even.

Then there are a few bands like U2, REM, and the B-52s; many bands from the 80s such as Simple Minds, Talking Heads, Men Without Hats, Pixies, Tears for Fears, Alphaville, The Smiths, The Police, Duran Duran, Madness, Depeche Mode, etc.

Plenty from the 90s: Oasis, Third Eye Blind, Nirvana, Blind Melon, The Verve, Semisonic, The Dandy Warhols, Elliott Smith, etc.

As for more recent (often indie) stuff, I like Regina Spektor, Missy Higgins, Goldfrapp, Andrew Bird, Vampire Weekend, Wolfmother, Fleet Foxes, Sufjan Stevens, Belle & Sebastian, Band of Horses, Guster, The Raconteurs, The White Stripes, The Decemberists, Tarkio, The Shins, and Broken Bells, to name some of my favorites.

Don't forget classic Portland bands: The Shins, The Decemberists, Everclear, The Dandy Warhols, Elliott Smith and Blind Pilot.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My bicycle, water,
and not much else.
Maybe cheese too.

If I could only eat one type of food for the rest of my life, it would be: Couscous. I spent entire summers on it already. Any type of pasta will do, really. That, and cheese; lots of cheese.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
“Never commit yourself to a cheese without having first examined it” —T. S. Eliot

“Too often I would hear men boast of the miles covered that day, rarely of what they had seen.” —Louis L'Amour
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Cycling to a friend's shindig. What could be a better combination of fun? Otherwise, I might just hangout with friends or even enjoy some time to myself or a cozy night in with someone close. You perhaps?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Oh, I have my share of interesting stories. Try me.

I'm pretty into bikes.

Also, I'm an aquarius.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
…you're feeling adventurous.
Or if we match well; that works too.
Actually, almost any good reason will do. Try me.

Also, I'm interested in people from anywhere, so feel free to message me regardless of your location. Remember when it used to list looking for pen pals? I've got friends on every continent, and I'm always down for some international correspondence.