Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

jschweg

36 Menlo Park, CA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Straight women only
  • Ages 28–36
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Aug 2
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Libra, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Dislikes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Fluently), German (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
“Who am I” in a few paragraphs? Here goes... I love learning and discussing ideas with other people. That’s probably what drew me to teaching. It’s such a wonderful feeling to be able to help someone discover a new way of looking at the world! I'm also a bit of a clown. I love stupid jokes, bad puns, wordplay, and all of their disreputable cousins, and I often feel most drawn to people who have a punchy sense of humor. Some of the personal qualities I prize the most are kindness, empathy, humility, and a tolerance for different perspectives. I try very hard to live up to these ideals, although I'm sure I fall short of them far too often. I'm an introvert at heart, which means that I usually need some down time to recharge after social events. But I can also put on a pretty convincing performance as an extrovert when needed!

What else? I grew up in the frozen wastelands of Minnesota, among the kind of people Garrison Keillor describes in A Prairie Home Companion. Living in Minnesota taught me many important life lessons—like how to defrost loved ones in the spring when you uncover their bodies beneath a melting snowdrift—but all things considered, I think I prefer my new California home! I've also lived on the East Coast and spent several years abroad in France and Germany.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Until recently, I've been teaching introductory humanities courses to college freshmen. It was a ton of fun—I love working with college kids, and I got to teach everything from history, to opera, to bioethics and science fiction! Right now I'm working in university administration, but I'm trying to transition into a career in some other area of education. We'll see where I end up!

I love the outdoors, especially hiking, backpacking, camping, and taking road trips to national parks. I think California is pretty much the greatest place ever—you can visit a new park every weekend and never run out! I also love classical music (of all styles). I sing in a chamber choir and write my own music using computer sequencing software. Recently, I've been trying to explore some new hobbies too, including tennis, board games, and improv theater (where you act without a script and make everything up as you go along). Perhaps you can introduce me to some more!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books:
I love science fiction! Three of my all time favorites are Gene Wolfe's The Book of the New Sun, Ursula K. Le Guin's The Dispossessed, and Kim Stanley Robinson's, Mars Trilogy. Some other favorite novels include Virginia Woolf's To the Lighthouse, Wallace Stegner's, Angle of Repose, and Richard Adams' Shardik. I like nonfiction too. The best one I read recently was Mark Arax's West of the West, about the immigrant experience in California.

Music:
Mostly classical music, but within that I have a wide range of tastes from the Renaissance to 20th-century and contemporary works. Some of my favorite composers are Shostakovich, Wagner, Copland, Monteverdi, Victoria, Rameau, and Bay Area composer John Adams. I also like soundtracks and musicals.

Some Favorite Movies:
Everything by Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli (especially Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke), Children of Men, Back to the Future, Lincoln, Che, Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure.

Some favorite bad movies:
One of my guilty (and dorky) pleasures is making fun of really bad B movies with friends. Some of my all-time favorites are Troll 2, Birdemic, Sharknado, and Manos: The Hands of Fate.

TV shows:
The Daily Show, The Colbert Report, The Wire, Game of Thrones, Boardwalk Empire, Once Upon a Time, Portlandia, Battlestar Galactica.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Resting up for a weekend adventure, or perhaps doing something low-key with friends. I'm not much into the bar or club scene.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Well... I'm not sure this is all that private, but if you're familiar with the Myers Briggs personality test, I'm an INFJ (Introvert, Intuitive, Feeling, Judging).

Um… I did mention that I like to watch movies like "Sharknado," right?
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
I'm not in a rush, but I also feel like it is much easer to get to know someone in person than online. Let's meet up somewhere and chat over coffee!