Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

jst1016

42 M Oakland, CA

I’m looking for

  • Women who like men
  • Ages 30–42
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Oct 20
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Buddhism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Dropped out of masters program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Wants kids
Pets
Likes dogs and dislikes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I grew up in the southeast and moved to the Bay area almost five years ago. I have a love affair with the mountains and oceans and after many years living in small mountain towns decided it was time to live next to the water. In a former career I spent many nights sleeping under the stars and being a mountain guide in the wilderness, so it's maybe an understatement to say that I like the outdoors. The outdoors is my religion. Doesn't so much matter what it is I just believe everything is more fun outside. Connecting with it regularly is the best way to nourish my soul....its usually where you can find me when I have free time.

I love exploring, and would enjoy having a partner in crime for continued adventures, both big and small, urban and wild, domestic and foreign. I’m fascinated by and revel in the absurdity in this world and the brilliance simultaneously. I believe we have a responsibility to make the world a better place through how we treat ourselves, others, the environment. I believe living a full and amazing life involves stepping out of my comfort zone (hopefully you do that too) and I try to do this regularly. I’ve been characterized by my friends and family as curious, imaginative, playful, "the guy you want to be placed next to randomly at a wedding or on a plane flight to st. somewhere" and “really just someone that’s super fun to hangout with.” Most of my former students describe my sense of humor and the value I place on laughter as one of my best strengths.

I appreciate spontaneity and variety and relish evenings spent out with good friends and good food, as well as more low-key and intimate ones at home cooking for two. I find pleasure in simple things—sunrises, lightning bugs, the sound of moving water, a photo that makes you stop in your tracks, random acts of kindness, a good chai or margarita, stopping on a run to smell some roses in an adjacent garden.

I believe in “chemistry” and serendipity and being open to the people that come in and out of our lives. There isn’t so much a “what I’m looking for” in a partner but more so someone that I’m inspired by to be a better “me” and someone that likes who they are in my presence. If there was such a thing as an 'ideal match', these are traits I consistently find completely irresistible (but are by no means a checklist)….a warm and generous spirit, an affinity for silliness/laughter, adventurous, she loves the outdoors and can easily laugh at herself. She can also laugh at me if she wants, but laughing with each other would be the best case scenario. She is curious, enjoys talking about anything and everything, confident and can relax and have a good time spontaneously. 
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
-smiling/grinning
-being silly and playful
-enjoying the company of others
-listening
-coming up with imaginative ways to get my niece & nephew to eat green foods (Evil Broccoli Hand has been working wonders recently),
-not taking myself too seriously (as you might guess with the Evil Broccoli Hand)
-laughing
-carving pumpkins
-working with my hands
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm tall
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: I seriously love books and read a lot. Mostly non-fiction but occasionally I get into other stories. On the bedside stack.....The Power of Habit, Quiet, Spark, Born To Run, Outliers, The Element.
Favorites: The Life of Pi, Mountains Beyond Mountains, The Last American Man, Orbiting the Giant Hairball, Ultramarathon Man Favorite authors: Ed Abbey, Mary Oliver, Feynman, Michael Pollan, Jon Krakauer, Terry Tempest Williams, Wendall Berry, Tom Robbins, Pema Chodron, Nassim Taleb, Michael Lewis, Murakami, Ken Robinson.

Music: Probably the best description would be "bluegrass-folk-singer-songwriter-acoustic-americana-indie rock-alt-country-ish" type music. I grew up in a musical family in Nashville (where it's sort of difficult to get away from music) so I appreciate all kinds....what's been playing lately. Amos Lee, Mason Jennings, The Waifs, bluegrass music, Gillian Welch, Todd Snider, Josh Ritter, The Avett Brothers, Van Morrison, Jack Johnson, Norah Jones, Keb Mo, Lyle Lovett, Paul Simon

Television: I haven't owned a television in 15 years, but I'm pretty sure if I did, I'd watch The Daily Show and Colbert everyday....online isn't quite the same.

Radio: This American Life, Mountain Stage, PHC, Etown, Radiolab, Cartalk, City Arts and Lectures, Commonwealth Club talks

Movies: The Princess Bride, Shawshank Redemption, The Big Chill, When Harry Met Sally, 180 Degrees South, documentaries, everything at the Banff Mountain Film Festival or MountainFilm
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
-sunrises/sunsets
-Mountains and oceans (maybe its really just wide open spaces)
-fresh guacamole and chips
-sleeping under the stars
-live music
-wind
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
-random acts of kindness....who's day can I make a little better
-architecture and design
-how to make this world a better place.
-how exactly do we lose touch with our playful/creative/artistic sides
-what the next adventure will be...where to go? what to do?
-what kind of wind is there out on the bay right now.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I’m a family man. I am very close to my brother and sister and am everyone’s favorite uncle...at least today I was. I feel blessed to have this family. We have a great time together and there is rarely a case where the family vacation is too long...often just the opposite. This isn't so much a 'private thing' as something that's really important to me and should be fully acknowledged.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
-you're curious and willing to meet in person (isn't it more fun anyways?)
-you're silly and playful. and generous with your energy.
-you think we have some things in common and share interests.
-you love to play outside.
-you are excited about how you fill your days, whatever you do.