kanaj
36 New York, NY
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
kanaj
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Grew up in New York, moved back four years ago after many years away. I like talking, about pretty much anything, but silly is better. Trying to get better at long, contemplative silences, but I wouldn't say I'm there yet.
What I’m doing with my life
Academic dropout, refugee from four years in Europe, now I work for a company which makes something you're probably using right now.
I’m really good at
Pretending to play the drums, getting lost, and boggle. Also, the things people who style themselves academics think they're good at: rejoinders, irony, grammar, lifting people onto their shoulders (literally).
The first things people usually notice about me
that I'm tall. And Indian-looking. Shortly after, my overpowering animal magnetism? I kid. It's actually, "wow, that guy has a lot of mustard all over his mouth." Mustard's good stuff. I have no regrets.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
You can just assume I like all the tv shows, movies, and music everybody in our demographic likes, although I have to admit: not a huge fan of Big Bang Theory. So here are random other things: Midnight's Children and the rest of what Rushdie's written that didn't disappoint horribly, most P.G. Wodehouse, most Calvin Trillin, White Teeth, On Beauty. Wet Hot American Summer, Fight Club, Chinatown, City Lights, The Great Dictator, Seven Samurai (and the others), Life of Brian, Holy Grail, Wedding Banquet, Last Days of Disco, most Coen brothers.

I will listen and dance to most music, but listing is beyond my powers right now. Hip-hop to dance to, emotive plaintive female singers to listen to. I will eat any food and love it, although my preferences tend towards the liberally flavored and spicy. Big fan of Szechuan peppercorns: the numbing sensation of dental anaesthetic in the comfort of a restaurant!
The six things I could never do without
My family (being back in the same city as them is great). Things to read, watch, think about, and listen to (so, these days, my phone). My bike. Sleep (yeah, boring, but seriously, sleep is so amazing). Parentheses. (I know that was only 5.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
good things to think about.
On a typical Friday night I am
planning an elaborate jewel heist
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I'm biking home, sometimes I sing along to my music, and sometimes that music is pretty bad. I only do it at night, because I don't think I could handle the shame of being seen in broad daylight singing Adele.
You should message me if
you like talking, making fun of silly and not-so-silly things, and doing fun things. I like doing fun things, but I generally tag along instead of instigating. You should be an instigator. Also, if you like sitting on people's shoulders or are willing to try, score. Note: I have carried a 6'2" 250-pound man on my shoulders. You will not fall.
More