Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

kayak_monkey

31 M Palatine, IL

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–35
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Sep 20
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Sagittarius
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Me in a nutshell? I'd probably have to describe myself as an "adventurous dork with a taste for dark beer."

I'll give you an example. If you were to sneak into my place and dig around a bit, you might stumble across a rock climbing harness, the TV would probably be set to the history channel (if I bothered having cable), a guide book to some foreign country would be on the coffee table and there would be about six different micro breweries represented in my fridge.

Seriously though, don't sneak into my place. I don't find stalking to be an attractive quality in women ;-)
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Enjoying it as much as I can.

I'm an engineer... which means I was one of those kids who took apart the family phone and re-wired it for my own amusement ...that was in 5th grade (true story). Despite a few random moments like that, most of my friends don't think I really fit the engineer stereotype.

When I'm not geeking my way through the next paycheck... I'm busy traveling, whitewater kayaking, home brewing, climbing, mountain biking or trying something completely new and random (like the mosaic class where I was the only non 50 year old woman). I've been to 20ish countries so far, with the most recent being Belize and Guatemala.

Whitewater kayaking is probably my number one passion right now, I spend countless weekends in the summer doing it and I try to include it in my travels when possible (pulled it off when I was in Panama, Costa Rica, Nepal and Chiler). Three years ago I got certified by the ACA to be a whitewater kayak instructor. Since then I've started teaching a kayak class for a community college on the side (just for fun) and occasionally I lead river trips for a local club, and a paddle shop.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
-kayaking
-growing basil (but not cilantro)
-Generously using hot sauce
-Mario Kart on N64
-Cooking: I'm pretty bad ass in the kitchen. So if we ever go head to head on Iron chef america, you'd better watch out!
-Talking shit/ playing dirty at Mini Golf
-Finding adventures by accident
-picking out a good beer for people who say they don't like beer
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Apparently I have a good taste in belts... or just one belt. Anyway, everyone seems to notice it for some strange reason.

Hey! My eyes are up *here* thank you
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: lonely planet and culture smart guides. I've also been reading some psychology related books lately. Personality traits, how the brain works, why men and women are different... understanding how people think is interesting. I also started "For whom the bell tolls." Its the first fiction novel I've attempted reading since some college class made me -we'll see how this goes. 33 pages down, 470 to go. "Into the Wild" was the first book I could say was better than the movie -that means I get to join the Book Snob Club now, right?

Movies: Bond flicks, "Everything is Illuminated" and "Into the wild" are high on the list. I'm also a big fan of some of the movies that make their way through the banff mountain film festival, like All.I.Can and Wildwater

Food: If I haven't tried it, we need to put some on my plate. But the usual favorites are: Thai, Mexican, and Texas style BBQ. I'll do sushi once in awhile, but I have to confess I'm really more in it for the wasabi than the raw fish.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
-My passport
-Spell check
-Dark beer
-Hot sauce
-My Kayaks (I need two, I could survive with out the rest)
-kitchen stuff (a guy's gotta eat)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
When is the next time I can go kayaking

What's the next stamp I'll be getting in my passport. (Just got back from Chile in early Feb... need suggestions!)

What's the next beer style I want to brew.

What am I cooking for dinner?

..."that's what she said"
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I really, really don't have a typical Friday night.

here's probably the top 5:
-hitting up a brewery or beer-bar with friends
-road trip to go kayaking (the rivers don't come to you)
-board games and beer with my cousins (the cousins who are under 21 get root beer... and maybe a sip of my beer when no one is looking)
-hanging out with friends and a movie and some home cooked food
-IO, Annoyance, TMLMTBGB, Second city, Zanies or some other equally good comedy venue
-At home watching netflix
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm usually pretty sarcastic, but I do have a serious side, and for the right woman- I can be quite sweet and gentlemanly as well (but we're going to keep that secret between us, ok?)

Oh, and I've never tried yoga... I feel like that's weird since I eat kashi cereal and like "nature stuff".
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You have a positive perspective on life, don't take yourself too seriously, consider yourself smart (most of the time) and are a curious creature -constantly learning, exploring and trying new things.... It would also be a plus if you have something in your life that you're passionate about (and it's not your 80hr a week job).