Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

kickbacknrelax

43 M Salem, IL

My Details

Last Online
Feb 17
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly other
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Management
Income
$60,000–$70,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Japanese (Okay), Spanish (Poorly), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Hi All - I'm taking a break from OK Cupid. Started dating someone and if things continue the way they are going, I will be off here for good. Happy Hunting!

Here's a brief summary of a variety of things about me; I practiced karate in the U.S. and Japan for a number of years. I used to live in the Detroit area and enjoyed seeing a lot of live local bands - I miss that scene but am getting older now so probably wouldn't fit in these days. I enjoy reading and of course karate and running. I play guitar; mostly stick to acoustic and have hosted a few open mic nights here locally. I also really enjoy great films but avoid TV as I know it would sap my free-time. I try to stay fit but also love good food. I particularly like low-carb cooking and am a fan of the paleo-diet. I get along with most people except those who are selfish and only care about money. I'm honest and easy-going with most people and can talk about almost anything. I go to the beach sometimes, go to restaurants and bars, dancing and do BBQs. I really enjoy gatherings (small and large) at friends' homes and having people over.

I'm looking to date mostly and would really love to find someone who I am a good fit with and start a more serious relationship. If it is not the right spark, I'll let you know; please do the same for me. Religion-wise, I am very "live-and-let-live" but am also firm in what I know is right for me. Please consider if this would be a sticking point for you. When I say I drink "often," it means a beer or two (not a case, haha). On the flip side, you won't ever receive any nude or lewd photos or messages from me :-). Finally, there are no lies on this profile; I believe in sharing accurate info and hope you will do the same.

I am dedicated, quirky, and upbeat
What I’m doing with my life
I moved to Salem, IL in January 2011 with a job in economic development that I really enjoy. I had taken a break from my career for a few years to study traditional Okinawan Karate in Japan for 3.5 years and returned to the U.S. as of August 4, 2010. I practiced karate in the U.S. for a number of years and this was a life's dream that took two years to plan out and make happen.
I’m really good at
Okinawan karate, organizing things, playing the guitar, speaking basic Japanese, cooking, skiing, finding obscure music, picking good movies, helping friends out of a trouble, partying, being supportive, leading (at times), saving money, spending money, traveling, city planning, economic development, debating topics without getting personal, giving directions, graphic design, video games, writing short stories, writing songs.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm easy to get along with and approachable. I'm also a bit whacky, personality-wise, if we're getting along. Physically, I guess they might think I'm in good shape. Most can't tell whether my hair is red or blonde. The Japanese seem to be impressed with magnificent nose.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite Books - Fiction: anything by Tolkien, H.P. Lovecraft, Anne Rice, John Steinbeck, James Joyce, Henry Miller, E.A. Poe, or Joseph Campbell. Other; I like historical, biographical, health and fitness reading as well.

Favorite Movies - I have too many to name. But my favorite directors include Guy Ritchie, the Cohen Brothers, David Cronenberg, Ken Russell, David Lynch, and Wong Kar Wai.

Favorite Music - My standby stations on Pandora are Soul Coughing, Morphine and Broken Bells. I'm not a top-40's, R&B or HipHop guy, but there are some exceptions. This is generally background noise for me. I like Rock, Industrial, Alternative, Punk, Ska, Reggae, Classical, Jazz, Blues, Funk and a lot of those catchy new names that they keep coming up with for music that fits in-between these categories.

Favorite foods include; steak, sushi, any BBQ'd meat, just about any vegetarian dish without tofu in it (I was veggie for 3 years), anything without wheat, noodles, rice or potatoes in it, I will happily devour. Keep processed foods and stuff laced with corn syrup away from me.
The six things I could never do without
Close friends, karate, a computer, inspiration, freedom, and music
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Some planned trips to visit friends out of the country. Getting my karate school up and running. Expanding my network of friends. The eight billion projects that I have started and want to complete. Getting to know more people down here in Illinois. Sometimes finding a job back in Michigan so I could be closer to friends and family again.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with friends having fun.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
None of your damned business.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 32–44
  • Located anywhere
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You are willing to make time for someone who will also respect your need for space...and you are willing to reciprocate. You take care of yourself and do not shy away from physical activity. You are in rebellion against the forces in your life that do not allow you to live authentically.