kmjha
27 Toronto, Ontario, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
kmjha
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
90% of people call me sassy. Those career aptitude tests in high school told me to be a funeral director or a taxidermist. Space fascinates me while also scaring the bejesus out of me. I wear a lot of dresses and I have visible tattoos (markers that would make me bad at stealing identities but easily identified in a morgue).

I care about all the isms (racism, classism, sexism, ableism, heterosexism, etc.). I'm not down with transphobia or transmisogyny. By "queer" I mean that gender doesn't matter all that much to me. My feminism is intersectional and I shan't tolerate hateful attitudes.
What I’m doing with my life
I've worked for non-profits advocating for people (mostly children) with disabilities since I was 18. I have a degree in history and I'm currently going to school for community work (social justice-y social work). I do public health/community outreach/community development-y type things.

Other than that, I'm trying to be a good friend, learning as much as possible about as much as possible, and wandering around downtown smiling at strangers and waving at dogs. I also basically run a retirement home for cats (my cats are both senior boys).
I’m really good at
Empathy. Whistling (playing the flute in high school band helped me hone my skills). Panicking when someone rings the doorbell (and not answering it). Singing "Head Over Feet" by Alanis to my cats.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: Lord of the Rings trilogy, What's Eating Gilbert Grape, Stardust, Benny & Joon, Stand By Me. Harry Potter for some comforting nostalgia. I'm a big fan of documentaries.

Music: My favourite concerts were by Yann Tiersen, Placebo, and Patrick Watson. I grew up listening to motown. I listen to a lot of 90s music. I listen to bluegrass with my two old man cats. Favourite album right now: Pickin' on Modest Mouse by Iron Horse (bluegrass covers of Modest Mouse songs).

Books: I own more non-fiction than fiction, and more stuff based on terrible world events than not. I love embarrassing and hilarious non-fiction.

TV: Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey, Downton Abbey, The Office (not so much in the post-Michael Scott era), Penny Dreadful, Parks and Recreation, Luther, Derek, Vikings, Sherlock, Game of Thrones, Hannibal, Broad City, etc.

Food: Fruit. Crusty bread. Coffee.
The six things I could never do without
-Nasonex
-Coziness (emotional and physical)
-Humour
-My rescue kitties Rasputin and Opie
-The satisfaction of ripping my bra off when I get home and flinging it across the room in a fit of celebration
-White noise all the time. I hate a quiet house
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Running away to Berlin/Iceland/New Zealand/a stormy coast, living on a houseboat, being a mountainman, the rights of those with disabilities, the robot uprising, black holes, living in a lighthouse, how to become a NASA scientist with a degree in history, ice cream, mental health, my strong maternal instincts towards Gollum, intersectionality, etc.
On a typical Friday night I am
Flossing and reading about the worst natural disasters in human history
You should message me if
you are kind, warm, empathetic, and sensitive. You value honesty and open communication. You believe in mutual support and caring. You're not a shut-in who hates people. You think loungin' in a park, watchin' documentaries, wrestlin', eatin' food, watchin' movies, museumin', board gamin', and wanderin' sound fun.
More