Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

kymichael37

27 M Albuquerque, NM

My Details

Last Online
Today – 8:43am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Cancer
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), Portuguese (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I once asked my best friend to describe me in five words or less because, as you will soon find out, I am constitutionally incapable of using only that many. His answer was: intelligent, laid-back, funny, thoughtful, and witty. There you have it.

I'm halfway through a three-year Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing at the University of New Mexico. I'm also teaching undergraduate English courses while I'm here.

Random thoughts, in no particular order: I want to write the next Great American Novel. My long-term goals are to be a writer, a professor, a husband, and a father. All of those roles are important to me, and I will work hard at each of them to be the best that I can be.

I'm told that my sense of humor is that of an observational comedian. Apparently that means there are others who are equally wry, sarcastic, and given to puns and wordplay. I kind of doubt it, though.

I worked as an EMT in college. After I finished undergrad, I spent a year in a dual-degree MD-PhD program before deciding that I didn't really want to be either a doctor or a researcher. As a result of that abbreviated training, I often know what is medically wrong with someone, but I almost never know how to fix it.

If you're interested, I can tell you exactly what your appendix looks like. If I really like you, I might just write you a new one.

I was born and raised in Kentucky. I went to college in Connecticut and med school in Florida. I've been in New Mexico 18 months now, and I'm enjoying the experience of living somewhere completely new.

I am fascinated by foreign languages and cultures, I love to travel, and I want to see the world. In high school I was an exchange student to Brazil. The places I most want to go next are Spain and Egypt.

I'm a pretty mean cook. My specialties are chicken enchiladas, pasta bolognese, and white chocolate fondue.

I played club baseball in college and now play in an adult ice hockey league. I am a fan of the New York Yankees, the New York Rangers, and University of Kentucky basketball and football.

I used to be part of a bar trivia team that regularly won national competitions. I don't really like bars, though, because I don't much care for alcohol and I don't like the environment. I like to be able to spread out, and bars rarely have room for knees, elbows, or feet. I also like to be able to hear the person next to me.

I read voraciously. Favorite authors include Steinbeck, Marilynne Robinson, E.B. White, Zadie Smith, David Foster Wallace, Charles Dickens, Gay Talese, and many, many more.

I listen to all sorts of music, but my favorite genres are jazz, blues, classic rock, country, and classical. I can give a pretty solid piano performance of the theme song from Jaws, and I can also do a note-for-note rendition of John Cage's 4'33" on any instrument you put in front of me. Trying to expand my repertoire on guitar.

I try to have fun with whatever I'm doing. My life has a running soundtrack in my head, and I often break out into spontaneous song while completing household (apartment-hold?) chores. I can also do fair impressions of Yogi Bear, any James Earl Jones character, and Stitch of "Lilo &" fame.

And you thought that list was going to give you some idea of what my natural speaking voice actually sounds like.

I believe there's nothing quite like the pleasure that comes from giving the perfect gift. After that, I take my cues from Erasmus: "When I get a little money I buy books; and if any is left I buy food and clothes."

I'm not a big fan of the dinner-and-a-movie first date because there's only so much you can learn from sitting next to someone in a darkened theater without talking. Instead, I would prefer to go do something--anything, really--to see if the chemistry is there, if we can have a good time without really trying.

Qualities I value in women: honesty, directness, intelligence, sense of humor, curiosity, playfulness, flexibility, compassion. Probably others. That's just what came to mind.

I thrive on intelligent conversation and witty banter. I really like debating with other intelligent people, even and perhaps especially when they disagree with me. Passion and courage of conviction is infinitely more interesting than apathy. There is perhaps nothing sexier in all the world than a beautiful woman who can hold her own in a friendly debate. If you don't like sarcasm and wordplay, then you probably won't like my sense of humor. Looking for someone who not only thinks I'm funny, but can also make me laugh in return.

If I left out something that you wanted to know, just ask.
What I’m doing with my life
Freelance writer, editor, tutor, marketing consultant, admissions consultant &c. Master of Fine Arts student in Creative Writing at the University of New Mexico. Aspiring author of the next Great American Novel.
I’m really good at
Waxing philosophic.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm told that I have an honest face. Whether that's the first thing people notice about me I honestly don't know.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: East of Eden, Grapes of Wrath, Gilead, Essays of E.B. White, The Meadow, White Teeth, Death of a Salesman, Confederacy of Dunces, A Christmas Carol, Consider the Lobster, The Great Gatsby, Good Poems, Tales of a Fourth-Grade Nothing...

Movies: Shawshank Redemption, Good Will Hunting, Finding Forrester, Groundhog Day, The Sandlot...

TV: The West Wing, Seinfeld, South Park, Modern Family, Whose Line Is It Anyway?...

Music: Zac Brown Band, Eric Clapton, Dave Brubeck, Jim Croce, Yo-Yo Ma...

Foods: Mexican, Italian, Indian, Thai, steak, seafood...
The six things I could never do without
My family and friends.

Good reading material.

Thoughtful conversation.

My iPhone.

My hockey skates.

Wikipedia. (Honorable mention: Google.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Everything. The unexamined life is not worth living.
On a typical Friday night I am
Reading, writing, or spending time with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If you're wondering about something that I didn't include in the veritable novella above, just ask. I don't have an honest face for nothing.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–28
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You think of yourself as honest, direct, intelligent, funny, intellectually curious, playful, flexible, and/or compassionate.

You enjoy intelligent conversation, friendly debate, and/or witty banter.

You're looking for a man with some or all of the qualities I used to describe myself above.