Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

lambdajam

30 Chicago, IL Man

Man

You might like

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 20–32
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Science / Engineering
Status
Single
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Japanese (Okay), C++ (Okay)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a kind, caring and intelligent guy. I value learning highly and try to do a lot of it, especially in regards to certain areas of math/computer science. I'm a little introverted -- not really a life-of-the-party type -- but I'm a good conversationalist and listener. I'm a football fan in-the-making, having recently finished watching a season in real time for the first time. I've visited 5 continents and I lived in Japan for three years. This might not have been the most thrilling self-summary you've ever read, but pithy writing is unfortunately not my strongest suit...
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Working as a software developer for a small-ish (slightly larger than startup?) company in downtown Chicago. I write a lot of code, mostly Python (at work) and Haskell (at home). I love learning math as a hobby; currently I'm studying logic, type theory and category theory to varying degrees of rigor. Currently learning about dependent type theory via the Coq interactive theorem prover. Ask me about that. It's the shit. Also I bike and do some yoga, though I'm not particularly hardcore about either.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Talking to my dog in an embarrassingly cutesy voice. But he's the only one who gets to hear me do that.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Music: mostly metal. Pretty extreme stuff, because that's where one tends to find the most innovation and variety. A few I've been spinning recently: Lykathea Aflame, Ulcerate, Nails, Artificial Brain, Sikth, Wormed, Wolves in the Throne Room... many others. I have many other genres I enjoy as well, however; I like classical (esp. 19th century romanticism), rock, EDM, top 40 pop, musical theater...

Movies: Lots of movies although not nearly as many as I probably should have seen. I generally try to see the Oscar-nominated movies at least. I'm not above catching a stupid comedy or a popcorn flick either...

TV: Football season is over (boohoo!) but it was great while it lasted. My TV watching has dwindled in response, but perhaps I'll return to my reality-TV-watching ways. I'm no aficionado on TV, to be sure.

Books: I read a fair amount of academic stuff for fun, odd as that may seem. I've been reading a bit of fiction recently as well, and I'm a big fan of Murakami.

Food: I love Italian, Mexican, Ethiopian, Moroccan, and pretty much any Asian food. I love hot dogs and I make (prepare, really) somewhat fancy hot dogs on a regular basis. I make killer tuna salad sandwiches too. I'm a huge fan of beer, especially IPAs. Hoppy makes me happy.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
math
coffee
conversation
music
family
my dog
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Who I really am, and whether I actually know myself as much as I think I do. This might seem (or be) indulgently self-absorbed, but it's somewhat of a philosophical imperative for me. Sometimes I think I might be a character in a Murakami novel, but it probably wouldn't be a very good one.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Usually just vegging out with some good beer and food, possibly hitting a bar with some friends. Also recently, Friday nights have often been spent playing Magic: The Gathering. I know, nerdy, but don't knock it till you've tried it.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm an ex-Mormon.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
* you're intellectually curious
* you're skeptical but have an open mind
* you have something to say
* you mostly have your shit together, but not all of it
* you like my dog