Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

lalawawa1960

54 M Astoria, NY

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 4:56pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$150,000–$250,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English, German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I
- am easy to get along with
- like intellectual topics, particularly science / politics / economics
- am very affectionate in a relationship
- am a straight shooter
- am financially secure: I'm debt-free, credit scores around 800
- love my work, but have a good social life outside of it
- am busy -- go to lots of activities in NYC, and organize some groups, a hiking group and two dinner discussion groups
- am unconventional in my thinking

I was born in the Midwest, moved to Germany as a little kid where I attended an international school (still speak German badly). Moved to Australia where I finished high school, then went to California where I went to college at Caltech, majoring in computer science. Lived most of my adult life after that in Silicon Valley, except for when I went to the Philippines in 1993 and taught computer programming for a year at a university in Cebu. Moved to NYC in 2005 and love it here.

According to the "personality test", I'm EXTREMELY unartistic. I don't think that's entirely true. I don't produce art, but I have about 5000 songs in my iPod, and art on the walls at home. When I go to a friend's house and they have blank walls with no art on them, I think they're nuts.

I was raised Protestant, went to Bible studies sometimes as an adult, really liked the people, but have not been actively Christian for many years.

I had my genome sequenced by 23andMe.com for $100. They say I'm 99.5% English/Irish, 0.1% Middle Eastern, the rest unknown. They checked for 52 bad recessive genes that can cause illnesses and I don't have any of them.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a computer programmer at a big, stable, successful company, where i've been working for eight years. My job is only 40 hours a week, and after work I go out to social activities, discussion groups, and lectures all over Manhattan. I've been having a ball ever since I got to NYC in 2005.
Since my job is stable and lucrative, I figure the next step is to get married.
I’m really good at
- thinking about intense intellectual topics
- organizing activites. Last weekend I led 24 people on a 17 mile hike that started in the Bronx, crossed the Broadway Bridge into Manhattan, then zig-zagged through various parks and attractions down to the Staten Island Ferry teminal. 14 of us made it to the end. I also lead 2 dinner discussion groups.
- investing
- snowboarding, except I don't catch air. I go to the Rockies every year
The first things people usually notice about me
- I was in a workshop with a group of people, and one of them who had known me about a half hour said it was absolutely, totally obvious that I was a really, really nice guy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Nonfiction Books: The Big Short (about the financial meltdown), The Blank Slate (about politics and psychology), Wired for War (about battlefield robots), Wealth of Nations (200 years old, about economics), The Undercover Economist
Fiction Books: The Kite Runner, This Book is Full of Spiders -- Seriously, Dude, Don't Touch It! (about a spider-based zombie apocalypse in a small town in a red state)
Subscribe to: The Economist, Scientific American, Discover, Wired, The New Yorker, and Bloomberg Business Week.
Music: I have a lot of music, about 5000 songs in my iPod. Lately I listen to a lot of Blue Man Group and Symphonic Rock, I particularly like music from the early eighties. I listen to a lot of bands most people have never heard of, and that never tour in the US, that I only know about because of Pandora.com.
Movies: Gregory's Girl, Pulp Fiction, Interview with the Vampire, Ace Ventura, Austin Powers, Foreign Films
The six things I could never do without
- the internet
- friends
- work
- being debt-free

There're a lot of things I wish I could say I "could never do without", like love and affection, but I have done without them in the past, so I guess I've been able to make do.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
A LOT of things.
- Wondering why OKCupid thinks someone who's answered ZERO questions is a "77% match"
- Science and Technology
- Politics (I'm a registered Democrat, though I classify myself as a "Tax and Spend Libertarian" -- long story)
- Economics
- Pretty much any problem that society has
On a typical Friday night I am
Going to a social event or lecture somewhere.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 35–58
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
- you have a photo up (preferably several)
- you are REALLY less than 6 years older than me (my age here is honest)
- you live less than a 40 minute drive from Astoria (I don't have a car, but if I got a remote girlfriend I could easily get one). I won't respond to people in really remote states or countries.
- you have answered at least 65 questions
- you are at least a 65% match
- you have health insurance
- you like to read and think
- you are turned on by honesty and kindness
- you are willing to tolerate being showered with affection and adoration