Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

laurae555

34 Portland, OR Woman

Woman

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 27–39
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 2:52pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 3″ (1.60m)
Body type
Average
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Drugs
Religion
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Status
Single
Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly), Japanese (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Words are magic to me; they matter. So does social justice. I love long conversations, and I spend a lot of time both consuming and talking about media -- TV, books, games, comics. If you're uncomfortable with feminism, swipe left now. If you know what intersectionality is, 20 points to Gryffindor!

I'm originally from New England, and have spent time living in Japan, New York, and San Francisco, but Portland is the home I've chosen. I've been described as "driven." I'm a bit of a secret introvert; I'm not particularly shy but I need my at home time (and my alone time) to stay balanced. I'm good in crisis situations. When the zombie apocalypse comes, you will want me in your band of survivors.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I've been many things over the years, including a McDonald's cashier, barista, group home counselor, English as a Foreign Language teacher in Japan, literary agency assistant, and comic shop clerk, but for the last eight years I've been a professional writer and editor.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Writing. Laughing. Reading insanely fast. Saying smart shit. Binge watching. Building fires. Changing my mind in the face of persuasive evidence. Thumb wars.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm short, a little under 5'3, but people tend to think I'm taller. Also parts of my hair are dyed #FF0000.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Movies: Kill Bill 2, Mulholland Drive, Spirited Away, Terminator 2, Office Space.

TV: The Wire, Deadwood, Twin Peaks, Arrested Development, Game of Thrones, Breaking Bad, Star Trek: The Next Generation, Avatar: The Last Airbender, Louie, Legend of Korra, Freaks and Geeks, Cowboy Bebop.

Books: Brief Interviews With Hideous Men, Duncan the Wonder Dog, Nickel and Dimed, Finder, Saga, Song of Ice and Fire.

Food: Breakfast/brunch, sushi and thai food are tops. Also diners. I'm a vegetarian and generally prefer the healthy foods, but life is short; eat a brownie.

Also: Video games, comics, surprises, hiking, general outdoorsy-ness. Concerts, art shows, dancing, reading, singing, new things.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
It's been my experience that when you think you can't live without something, you're probably wrong.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Metaphors, politics (when I can stand it), the internet (when I can stand it), privilege, the difference between fear and anxiety, etymology, word choice, polymaths, things I should have said, things I might say, remembering to breathe, what's coming next.

When I want to laugh but it's not appropriate, I think about dead puppies. When I want to cry but it's not appropriate, I think about select episodes of The Simpsons and that Youtube clip of the little kid who just learned how to ride a bike. Thumbs up for rock and roll: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F2ZShmt19uQ
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I reject the premise of this question.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
One of my legs contains a fair amount of titanium, which I believe makes me a cyborg.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're socially liberal, smart as hell, and know who you are. You like strong women. You know how to be both honest and kind, and your first reaction to challenging times isn't a cartoon dust cloud. You're open to the idea of meeting the right person now, not someday.

It also helps if you're a tall lanky dude since that describes about 90% of the people I've ever dated.