Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

liberalexplorer

31 Waltham, MA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 22–34
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Dec 21
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other, but not too serious about it
Sign
Pisces, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Student
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Wants kids
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
August 2014 update: I just moved to the Boston area from Washington, DC. Definitely still learning my way around, so let me know if you know any great local spots! Especially in Waltham, Somerville, or Cambridge.

For those who think Waltham is "too far," fear not - I have a car, and we do have the commuter rail and buses out here. :-)
-----

I speak German, have been to Transylvania, and talk about world politics one minute and the absurdity of 80's music the next. I've had a lot of different interesting experiences and enjoy talking about almost anything under the sun.

I taught English in Germany for a year and had a lot of fun with that. Although my German was almost fluent, I still occasionally made some pretty funny mistakes, and my kids would ask some pretty hilarious questions.

I am passionate, intellectual, and quirky. ESTJ, if you put any stock in that.

I'm GGG (as in Dan Savage) and seek the same.

I have an awesome cat named Kennedy.

****Note: I currently have a "chin beard"...decided to shave off the "Abe Lincoln beard." :-)
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Just started a PhD program in Public Policy. My focus is on economic inequality.

I'm definitely a "work to live" not "live to work" type, so I spend a lot of time engaging in activism, going to concerts, etc. Friends and family are paramount, so I spend a lot of time with them. I'm very involved in progressive politics.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
speaking German, hiking, discussing - from the mundane to the profound, planning trips, using maps/navigating, remembering things (especially if fairly random), organizing
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My facial hair.

A fair number of strangers have commented on my deep, booming voice, which projects really well. Apparently I should "go into broadcasting," "do voice-overs," or "join a choir," according to a few strangers. I'll take those as compliments. *As of May 2012, I have actually done a voice-over!

People often notice that I talk a lot. I'm pretty opinionated but often rather whimsical once you get to know me better.

I have a goofy, quirky side that shows itself after a while, and I'm rarely boring.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Lord of the Rings-Tolkien, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, The Freedom by Jonathan Franzen, 1984, The Onion - Our Dumb World
Lots of non-fiction stuff on history, politics, etc.
Some fiction, mainly the classics

Movies: Donnie Darko, Secretary, Waking Life, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Wet Hot American Summer, Dazed and Confused, Amelie, Good-Bye Lenin, Big Lebowski, The Room, Office Space, lots of German movies

Music: Pink Floyd, Tool, Black Sabbath, Opeth, Broken Social Scene, Arcade Fire, Defiance, Ohio, Ra Ra Rasputin, alternative, various classic rock, 80's, indie rock, German hip-hop.

Food: German, Italian, and Mexican.

TV: Game of Thrones, Louie, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, The Wire, Mad Men, Simpsons, Seinfeld, The Office. Sports sometimes (Phillies and Eagles).

***General likes/dislikes***
Likes: public transportation, nature, coffee shops, book stores, good conversation over food or beer, museums, naps, documentaries
Dislikes: traffic, long lines, status-oriented people, materialism, reality TV, homophobia, racism, sexism, etc.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. Family and friends
2. Books
3. My passport
4. My music collection
5. Sense of humor
6. Social justice and politics
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How to make the world a better place, where I would like to travel next, the roots of economic inequality, good places to eat, lots more...just ask me. I'm a highly inquisitive person.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
At a laid-back bar drinking some good beer with friends, or maybe a house party. It really depends on my mood/what is going on that weekend, but you usually will NOT find me in clubs and other places where it's too loud to have a good conversation.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I find women in tights or leggings very sexy, yet I didn't really understand the difference between them until a few years ago...

Actually that's not all that private. I'm a pretty open book :-)
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
One or more of these describe you:
You are very progressive and politically active
You enjoy the outdoors
You like to travel
You speak a foreign language (or several!) well
You like independent music

You are ok with dating an omnivore/meat-eater.