Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

veryjoanholloway

46 London, UK Woman

Woman

You might like

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 34–54
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 10:52am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other
Sign
Capricorn
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
$80,000–$100,000
Status
Single
Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
NOTE: I live in New York City. Just looking around.

In the spirit of transparency and to save everyone time...I do not respond to or communicate with anybody who falls outside my stated preferences OR who hasn't filled out their profile properly. If you message/like/rate me despite this, then you either didn't read my profile or foolishly believe the rules don't apply to you. This is a hard and fast rule for me. Please respect it.

Part Joan Holloway, part Joan Didion. For those of you who don't get that reference, allow me to explain. I'm a writer who is cerebral and socially aware, but not so much that I don't enjoy a good cocktail and innuendo laced conversation.

I spent my first month in NYC living in a convent. True story. No, I was not considering taking a vow of celibacy. But it's a great opener.

I am passionate about various forms of expression and art and inquisitive about what makes us tick. I'm equal parts carnal and creative and believe wit is far more arousing than sarcasm and prefer grit over machismo and muscles.

I'm kind, self-aware, ambitious, supportive, encouraging, compassionate, empathetic, and a little goofy. I can offer a sympathetic and objective ear, and a solid shoulder on which to lean. I believe in the art of diplomacy.

I don't make people jump through hoops in order to win my affection, which means I don't jump through hoops.

Some fun facts about me:
*While I've never wanted kids of my own, I'm not opposed to dating someone with kids. I get why that might not work with folks who have kids.
*I try to learn a few new words a day.
*I wear bold colored lipstick when I run. Just because.
*I really want to check out an absinthe bar. For writing research. No, seriously.
*If Zoolander is on TV, I set aside whatever I'm doing to watch it.
*My friendships are ride or die friendships.
*I'm a Dan Savage fan and know what GGG means.
*I own maybe 8 pairs of shoes but wear my sneakers the most.
*I added a Pee Wee Herman sound clip app to my phone and play it when stressed. My favorite? "Why don't you take a picture it'll last longer!"
*I moved to NYC 20 years ago by myself without knowing a soul.
*I can walk 65 Manhattan blocks in 45 minutes. If Madonna is playing on my iPod, I can do it in 42 minutes.
*I volunteer to walk dogs who have been abused.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I started my own business several years ago that flexes the more logistical/planning part of my brain. That allows me the time and flexibility to do something else that I love, writing. I write freelance for a few sites as well as my own.

Setting goals and achieving them.

I started to write my first book in Jan 2014. The first draft of my novel is just about complete.

Three months ago I started interval training. Running was always something I wished I could do, and now I'm up to a 12 minute interval.

Waking up at 6am, making coffee, and using my vocabulary app to learn new words.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Being objective and empathetic.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Probably my skin, eyes and hair when I wear it curly. My curves.

While this might not be something that people notice about me off the bat, they come to learn that I know who I am and what my limitations are.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Serial podcast.

Radio - NPR, SiriusXM talk shows & (gasp!) The Broadway Channel.

TV
Masters of Sex
The Good Wife
American Horror Story
Hannibal.
House of Cards
BBC's Sherlock
The Fall

As for movies - Anything that involves David Fincher, Christopher Nolan or Alexander Payne.

Dead Poets Society for the lessons it taught about the power of words and finding your voice.
Seven
Silence of The Lambs
The Usual Suspects
Jaws
Election
The Social Network
Good Will Hunting
Jeepers Creepers 1 and 2. I know!

Music? I grew up listening to Nat King Cole, Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin. (No Italian grows up without hearing That's Amore on a loop.)
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
A walking or running path
Dogs (Animals, really)
Water
Sundresses
Grammar & Thesaurus apps
Sneakers
My Surface Pro 3
A great glass of Prosecco while revising a submission
My impressive ability to identify old photos and people who shave several years off their age.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
It all depends on how the rest of the week went. I'm perfectly content getting under the covers and catching up on my reading. Or maybe I'll head to the movies. Or I catch up with a friend for an early drink.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're comfortable in your skin and know who you are. I like flaws. Flaws make us interesting. Flaws are okay.

You're comfortable with your age and where you are in life and don't feel the need to qualify or justify either.

You know how to talk to a woman without drooling all over her or commenting on her body like some sex-deprived noob.

I'm looking for a guy with whom I can develop something relaxed, substantive, and physically satisfying.

You have thoughts and opinions and you know when and how to voice them. Diplomacy is far more attractive than radical honesty.

If you like tooling around the kitchen and heating up some stir fry, having someone to bounce ideas off of or act as a sounding board after a long day, or like discovering new wine bars we'll probably have a lot of fun.