Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

macavitylock

32 M El Cerrito, CA

My Details

Last Online
May 27
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Libra, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
After having completed my PhD program last year, I've rejoined the ranks of the 9-to-5-ers. I worked for five years before going back to school, so I was well-prepared. I do miss the openness of any given day, but do not miss the fact that you always felt like you should be working or researching. It's a trade-off.

Even though my career is very math-centric, the thing I get most excited about is a good story, be it a book, a movie, a play, or whatever. Theater has always been a hobby of mine, of the backstage variety mostly: stage managing, directing, playwrighting. I haven't been involved with it much since I moved out to California, though. It's tough to find a good group to work with, especially when it is only a hobby.

I'm originally from New England, being from Connecticut and then moving to the Boston area for college and stay there for my first job. I'm worried that I'm losing my New England hardiness, but the allure of the Bay Area weather pattern is pretty hard to pass up. Maybe my mind will change after I've lived through my first large earthquake.
What I’m doing with my life
My interest has always been in the art and science of decision making. My undergraduate work, my first job, and my PhD have prepared me pretty well I'd say. I'm currently a R&D scientist in this field at a small-ish company in SF and it's treating me well so far. (The freedom to work at home when necessary was a life-saver during the BART strikes.)
I’m really good at
The things that need to get done.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably my hair. When I'm late in the haircut cycle, it's classic Jew-fro.

Also, my beard. I do keep it well-trimmed.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Authors: China Mieville, Neil Gaiman, Michael Chabon, Neal Stephenson, Kurt Vonnegut.

Movies: A Fish Called Wanda, WALL-E, Shaun of the Dead (or any of the Cornetto trilogy), anything Christopher Nolan, anything Coen Brothers.

TV: Mad Men, Justified, Parks & Rec, Community, Louie, Archer. Also those that have left us: Breaking Bad, Deadwood, The Wire, Terriers, Firefly, Arrested Development.

Music: The Decemberists, Guster, Ben Folds, The New Pornographers.

Food: I'll be honest, I'm kind of picky, but I can always find something I like at a restaurant. Big fan of Thai cuisine, duck when prepared right, a good slice of pizza, chocolate.
The six things I could never do without
Food, water, shelter,... Those things are far too obvious, aren't they? The one thing I can't do without is stories. In any form, be it movies, books, TV, music, theater.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to make things better.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out, playing games, or watching a movie with friends. Or hanging in and reading or somesuch.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When asked politely, I can talk like Kermit the Frog.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–34
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
If you think you can match me joke for joke.
If you want to meet a guy who's got prospects, who's bona fide.
If you know what the previous refers to.
If you want to join me at the live Thrilling Adventure Hour show at the SF Sketchfest in January.