Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

maddyrbklyn

53 F Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Aug 11
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 5″ (1.65m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism
Sign
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Other
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English, French (Okay), Thai (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
In many ways I'm deeply content with my life. My work engages me intellectually and emotionally and allows me to pay the bills. I love where I live and most days can walk to work except when I hop on the train to the other side of the East River and take in the electric flow of Manhattan. Recently have been biking into Manhattan. I love the way that city biking makes me feel free and at the same time demands that I be hyper-alert to everything that's going on around me.
I have a daughter in middle school who enriches my world immeasurably. She is quite something and I feel incredibly lucky to have her in my life. We share many adventures and she has a wisdom that goes far beyond her years.
I've always been curious about.... about lots of things in the world and so my sense of the world is expansive. I notice; I listen; I taste; I feel; I try when I can to take my time in doing those things, but, you know, there's never enough time in NYC. I also yearn for someone to share the many wonderful, and the sometimes not so wonderful, parts of life. I want to meet a man with whom I can explore and discover more of what's out there and to reveal what's in here.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm raising my daughter on my own. Parenting is its own challenging adventure and also very fulfilling as those of you with kids know.

I'm a psychologist--perhaps you guessed that by now--in private practice. My work sustains me in multiple ways.

I'm a devoted farmers' market shopper of many years. The abundance during this summer season knocks me out: the colors, textures, aromas, flavors.

I'm a political activist: DDDB until recently, sniff, growl... I try to stay involved with the anti-fraking movement, but these days mostly by reading up, signing petitions and bringing it into conversation when appropriate.

Music, of many kinds, but especially jazz has been a very important part of my life for a long time. I'd definitely like to get out more to some live shows, but in the meantime, I content myself with the superb DJs over at WKCR and WFMU.

What else? I have traveled a great deal and lived abroad for a couple of years--the experiences that I had while living overseas provided a new and enduring sense of direction that played a big role in my career choice. And significantly, I love being places of wild-ness. My daughter and I often hike and camp during our summer vacations along with other kinds of travel.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Naming that tune! I have a really good ear.

Baking (the above mentioned farmers' markets supply excellent ingredients for pies) and making amazing latkes.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I feel a little funny about this one. I don't know what other people notice about me because I'm not int he habit of asking them and it isn't the kind of thing that people offer spontaneously. I guess all internet sites have at least one item that stumps me.

12/12 update: I took the direct route and asked a few people to help me with this. One dear friend said this: "you might not be the one telling the jokes at a party but when you laugh, you laugh with your whole body." Another said: " your warm smile."
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Yikes, here's another... This question seems fluid and somewhat tempered by my current mood but I guess I can toss out a few:

In the jazz realm: Eric Dolphy, Coltrane (of course), Marty Ehrlich, Betty Carter, lots more...
Moving on to: Bach (piano music especially, oh, but also the St Matthew Passion) Beethoven, Brahms...
From the sublime to... Springsteen (i grew up in NJ) Jeff Buckly, Cat Power...

I love going to the movies and don't do it nearly often enough. Some of my favorites on the screen are The Apu Trilogy and The Singing Detective (that was actually on TV a long time ago)

I recently had a lobster roll sandwich from those guys at who run the Red Hook Lobster Pound and I think it was one of the most delicious meals I've ever eaten.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My daughter

the left side of the radio dial
elm trees (particularly the ones in Central Park's Literary Walk)
movement of all kinds, internal and external
possibility and connection
fireflies
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Lets talk about this one, OK?
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Spending time with my daughter and some of our friends or out at a psychoanalytic lecture.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I enjoy ironing even if I don't do it very often.
I’m looking for
  • Straight guys only
  • Ages 47–60
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You are intrigued and understand that I'm serious yet playful; introspective yet vibrant.