Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

madnessofmalkav

34 M Chico, CA

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–40
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Sep 18
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
Trying to quit
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and very serious about it
Sign
Leo, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Less than $20,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
It must be time for an update...

I'm a single dad, have been now for over a year, with very little time on my hands to do anything but school, work, and, well, be dad. I recognize that I may not be in the most prime position to join the ranks of the dating world, but I thought it'd be at least nice to chat around and meet some new people (even if nothing beyond friendship comes of it). :)

I've been through a lot over the past couple of years, but I try to remain focused and positive. I've seen a lot of people write in their summary, or what they're looking for, that they need strictly positive people in their lives. I think that's a little vague. While I try to maintain a positive outlook on life, I have my breaking point, and I'm pretty sure everyone else does too.

I really enjoy captivating conversation that can persist for hours. I won't say that I'm totally accepting of everyone's opinions and beliefs (let's face it, some of them, or many of them, are just stupid). But as long as you're not beating me with your ideals, or can understand that a conversation/discussion/debate is just that, then we'll get along great! ^_^

Also, I'm a nerd...and I take great pride in this.

I just started graduate study toward a master's degree in Biological Science at CSU Chico. I work for the bug lab on campus, and super enjoy bugs! ;) I love going outdoors, chasing butterflies, bird watching, nature walks, wandering through creeks, digging for bugs, geocaching, and, in general, just breathing fresh air. I need to do this more, with picnicking and friends.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm working toward a master's degree with a focus on entomology. I've lived in Chico for about 5 years, now, and, one day, plan to move, hopefully to work on a PhD, preferably abroad. :)

In the interim, I'm hoping to just enjoy life as much as I can, one day at a time! That being said, I'm a full time father and I'm trying to teach myself violin. It's time I dusted off the bookshelf and get through some of these novels I've meant to read. Once a little more time frees up, I'll be out in the park and the reserve hunting down insects and birdwatching, with a break here and there for a dip in the creek. I sort of can't wait for the rains to begin again. I really like rain!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Science!!! I don't know, I think I'm pretty good at science. My taxonomy's getting a little rusty. I can cook, I can clean, I can play video games and solve puzzles relatively well.

I'm apparently awesome at karaoke, but that really could just be the effect of the alcohol making it seem as though I'm doing Freddie Mercury justice. Meh, it's fun all the same!

I've been told I'm pretty articulate when it comes to conversation. Of course, this is after I get over my initial shyness and bumbling awkwardness.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm not really sure. I always thought I had pretty nice eyes. Often, it seems to be my earrings. Maybe the fact that I'm staring off into the trees and trying to ID the birds and mammals bouncing around among them?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Favorite books - The Sandman comics, The Ethical Slut, Larousse Gastronomique, 1984, Faust, The Odyssey, The Theban Plays, Dracula, Kitchen Confidential, Fast Food Nation, works by Stephen King, Chuck Palahniuk, Hunter S. Thompson, Oscar Wilde, Edgar Allen Poe, among others, and a whole plethora of science related textbooks and supplements. I'm currently trying to squeeze Cloud Atlas in between reading research papers and preparing projects for school.

Favorite Movies - Donnie Darko, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, 9, films by Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Darren Aronofsky, Wes Anderson, Terry Gilliam, Christopher Guest, John Cameron Mitchell, Quentin Tarantino, and Yimou Zhang, and a variety of anime. Don't watch much these days, though.

Favorite Shows - 30 Rock, Leverage, Community, Arrested Development, Kids in the Hall, That Mitchell and Webb Look, Dexter, True Blood, Bleach, Venture Bros, Star Trek (especially TNG), The Walking Dead, Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones, Sons of Anarchy and a variety of anime. Don't watch much TV these days, either.

Favorite Music - 80s New Wave, Dark Wave, Goth, Industrial, Nine Inch Nails, Siouxsie and the Banshees, The Smiths, Aphex Twin, etc. Lately, I've been on a cello rock/punk cabaret/dark cabaret kick (Rasputina, Amanda Palmer, Matson Jones, Melora Creager). Also, lately, a lot of trip hop, and electronic music, as well as some incredible "cello metal." Oh, yes, I have my Indie and Pop guilty pleasure moments too. No genre is too terrible for the guilty pleasure moods!

Favorite Food - Anything Tasty! Indian, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, Italian, French, and whatever new delicious treat anyone wants to feed me or teach me to make!
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
*My butterfly net and insect collection
*My daughters
*My iPhone (sad, I know)
*My PS3
*My cat
*My job
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Animals and taxonomy, food, bodies of water, sex, games, logic problems, the judicial system, what to do with myself when I actually have free time.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I'm probably at home, hanging out with my daughters, making dinner or watching a movie, or maybe out on a short drive. More than likely, I'm doing homework or reading research papers, though. My weekends have been pretty mellow lately.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I like Star Trek, and I've LARPed before...and enjoyed it.
I sometimes wear a dragonfly necklace adorned with pink, purple, and green beads.
I like to eavesdrop.
I have a mild crush on Tinkerbell.
I recently became an Apple whore. iPhone 5, here I come!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like the outdoors, you want to talk, hang out, be a pen-pal, practice (i.e. attempt) foreign languages, cuddle, discuss fun science-y things, need a bio tutor, are bored, long for nerdy friends, roleplay, enjoy anime, geocache, don't mind being lazy from time to time.