makimomc
72 Athens, GA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
makimomc
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Older model (actually did some, back in the day), chassis in fairly decent shape, almost all original parts. May not run like a few years ago, but walks well, purrs when appropriate, remembers bench seats, gear shifts on the steering column and necking knobs. (!)

Have been parked for too long in a rather nice garage, in town, close to what I consider important.

I've lived all over the world, but haven't traveled much in the last few years. I've forgotten all my Portuguese and most of my Japanese. Met the wife of the Japanese Consul a little while ago and remembered the proper greeting. She said, "Oh, you speak a little Japanese?" I blurted out the first phrase that popped in my head. "Yes. Where is the post office?"

How to make a good first impression...groan!

French and German seem to come back when needed, and I’d love to “need” them again.

Wanna come along?

Until then I’ll hold your hand in the museum, get absurdly “high” on the sounds of beautiful music, ponder and discuss the play we just saw, enjoy your family and play with your pets.

A perpetual student, I’m always taking a variety of classes through OLLI (Osher Lifelong Learning Institute). I have tickets for several concert series, and am a member of a couple of arts organizations. My house and patio are put back together after several months of repairs, and a long time family obligation is now over.

I'm looking for a man close to my age who hasn't lost his enthusiasm. What impresses me most is a guy who doesn't need to try to impress, who relishes interacting with a wide variety of people, and who is wise enough to accept that none of us have all the answers to anything.

If he happens to enjoy, as I do, living in a dot of blue in a sea of red, great. If he agrees that pet hair on clothes and furniture is not a disaster, even better.

I’ve been an active Episcopalian my entire adult life and would not do well with conservative, right wing anythings, or Faux News affictionados. No smokers or "trying to quit." Thanks!
What I’m doing with my life
One of my pleasures is being active in the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute, both taking and teaching classes, and participating in several interest groups. I take full advantage of the cultural activities in town, and--oh yes--am cleaning out my attic!
I’m really good at
Teaching, writing, photography, cooking (it's therapeutic). Caring for pets. (when I was a little girl I wanted to be a dog trainer). Also misplacing keys, glasses--you know, the "would forget my head if it weren't attached" syndrome
The first things people usually notice about me
my smile?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Jared Diamond's "Guns, Germs and Steel," and "Collapse" and Terry Pratchett's hilarious "DiscWorld" series; Classical music, opera, jazz, bagpipes and close harmony a cappella (like barbershop, Chanticleer). Sushi, oysters, fresh BLT's, cheeses, chocolate anything. Family favorite movie was "Young Frankenstein."
The six things I could never do without
beauty and cultural activities
friendship
reading
learning
love
pets
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I don't think I'm obsessive about anything. My interests are broad and varied, my politics and social views liberal, my loyalty to friends and family unshakeable.
On a typical Friday night I am
I'm retired. Friday night is no different than other nights. I'm often at the university's famed concert hall or fine arts auditorium.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If it is "private," I don't talk about it!
You should message me if
you would like to!
More