Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

matt10thecat

29 M Arlington, VA

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Sagittarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English, Russian (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a grad student working on my PhD in Political Science. Before moving to the DC area, I lived for a few years in Ukraine through Peace Corps. I could give the cliche 'I love to travel' line, but since I've been back in the US, I haven't had a lot of time to do traveling - hopefully I can taking some trips in the near future. I'm originally from ND - on the border of MN in Fargo (yes like the movie, although I don't think my accent is that bad - only with certain words I've been told), and lived there most of my life before doing Peace Corps and now grad school out here.

When I'm not talking someone's ear off about my research or political ongoings, I enjoy doing active/outdoorsy things (hiking, biking, camping, grilling, whatever) and playing sports/running/just biking to a random park and reading.

When I lived overseas, I developed some cooking skills, and actually prefer making a fancy meal at home to going out to eat (especially if said meal can be cooked over an open flame).

I think most people would describe me as easy going (unless I'm trying to wrap up papers at the end of a semester), yet ambitious and passionate. Although I enjoy grad school for the most part, I'm definitely looking forward to the day when I'm finally done and have one of those job things everyone's talking about.
What I’m doing with my life
Eventually, after I get my PhD someday . . . , I'm thinking either professor or sticking around DC to work in a political think tank or something.

In the meantime, I'm enjoying the avoidance of being in the 'adult-working world' - although I do substitute teach sometimes and have a 'real job' during the summers working with kids.

On weekends I usually end up just hanging out with friends and jumping at any opportunity to get out of town to enjoy the great outdoors.
I’m really good at
riding my bike no-handed - I can ride a few miles without touching my handlebars - pretty cool, huh?

On the more practical side, kind of, I'm pretty good at telling undergrads how poorly they have written their papers - but tactfully.
The first things people usually notice about me
not really sure how to answer this - will have to ask someone.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I mostly read non-fiction political books (for school and for fun). Books I've recently read: 'It's Even Worse Than It Looks', 'Arguably Essays' (a collection of Christopher Hitchens essays), 'The Zinn Reader' (a collection of Howard Zinn essays - his 'A People's History' is probably one of my favorites), 'Doctors and the State'.

Movies: I don't really have a 'favorite' movie, but I guess some kind of top 5 includes: Field of Dreams, Karate Kid, Almost Famous, Good Will Hunting, and Bull Durham.

Shows: I watch the Daily Show/Colbert Report almost every day, and a lot of news/baseball (Democracy Now is quite good). I like the Office, How I Met Your Mother, and Parks and Rec as well. My favorite no longer running shows - Seinfeld, Freaks and Geeks, Undeclared, Trailer Park Boys, Boy Meets World.

Music: I usually opt for podcasts/NPR over music when I'm exercising or commuting to school. I guess my top choice of a band to see would be Phish - I used to kind of be into jam band concerts/festivals, but haven't been to any in a while (I really hope this isn't the first stage of becoming an 'adult'). My dad's a jazz musician back home, so I enjoy listening to his CD's that he gives me as a xmas present every year (and watching him or other jazz musicians perform live). Generally I prefer more instrumental type of music, but am open minded about stuff I've never heard before. Other than that, I'm kind of oblivious to contemporary music trends since I don't listen to music on the radio or anything. I guess I have a good time jamming out to 80's and 90's music when I'm drinking with friends, so that counts for something.

Food: yes, I like food.
The six things I could never do without
my laptop - research/baseball news
my bike - main mode of transportation
cookies - brain food when studying all day
baseball - kind of been an obsession of mine since I could first walk tacos - they are delicious
whiskey - no explanation necessary
I spend a lot of time thinking about
potential dissertation topics - I know it sounds boring - but I like to figure out why things are they way they are and get preoccupied easily. I'll often end up on a two hour google bender researching some random topic that comes to mind (good thing I'm in grad school and don't have a real job).

I also often think about planning some random multi-state bike trip. I've done a few longer trips, but nothing more than a few days long - maybe this summer I'll finally make that epic journey.
On a typical Friday night I am
either out with friends having some drinks or relaxing and watching a movie or ballgame - recently bought a fire pit, so sitting around that with friends should become pretty routine as well. Clubs and bars typically aren't my scene, unless it's more of a divish kind of bar. I generally prefer to just hang out with friends at each others' places over 'clubbing/bar hopping' - I'll do it every once in a while, but it just gets obnoxious after about 20 minutes (if you are a woo girl and love clubbing, we are probably aren't meant to be).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have an affinity for 90's sitcoms still. If Boy Meets World or Home Improvement is randomly on the TV, I'm not changing the channel (there are probably worse guilty pleasure shows I'd watch - not willing to admit which ones here, however). I guess I'm a sucker for nostalgia.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–33
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you are low maintenance, outgoing, and can just as easily have a good time at a club as you can around a campfire.