cripwomyn
35 East Lansing, MI
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
cripwomyn
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
How do I begin? Seems a bit strange, but here goes nothing.

I am a queer, disabled, feminist mother of a beautiful 4-year old son. My life passion revolves around social justice. Whether I am engaging in respectful dialogue, signing a petition, or handcuffing myself to the white house fence, I am always using my voice for positive change.

I spend my daily work life traveling the state teaching about disability identity and pride. No, I would not walk again, even if I could. My disability is such an essential part of who I am - I couldn't imagine who I would be without it. Just like I wouldn't wake up a man tomorrow to reduce my experiences of sexism, I wouldn't wake up tomorrow non-disabled. P.S. I am not your inspiration. I am not courageous for living with a disability. I am amazing for putting up with this ableist world and dedicating my life to changing it.

What else?
- I don't believe in the gender binary
- I don't shave my legs or my armpits
- I cannot cook to save my life
- I tend to be a bit of an optimist in life
- I look way younger than I really am
- I love nature
- I write poetry
- I love thunderstorms
- I find people who challenge norms attractive
- My mom is my best friend
- I hate the term bisexual
- If you play the guitar and sing, I'm likely to give you the key to my heart!

Want to know more...send me a message.

In addition to finding a special someone, I am really interested in meeting other like-minded people, queer parents, and people involved in activism. These types of connections fuel me and the work I do so I would really like to increase my social justice community of friends!
What I’m doing with my life
I am constantly working on being the best mother I can be - including how to raise my white male son with a social justice and feminist perspective.

I love my job where I travel the state and country doing social justice work. Mostly focusing on disability justice and pride, but also intersections work with LGTBQIA, aging, domestic/sexual violence, and other types of social justice issues.

I have spent, and will continue to spend, a lot of my live speaking up for justice and making this world a better place. I am a life-long learner, justice creator, challenging the status quo, radical activist.

When I am not doing all of that, I am busy being a mother trying to figure out how to raise a white male in this American society. I am also into creativity and the arts, especially scrapbooking and writing poetry. I love exploring nature, camping, the beach, gardening, and yes, even riding the lawn mower while cutting the grass.
I’m really good at
I am really good at speaking up and using my voice, privilege, and actions for justice. I am excellent at eating cheesecake and using exclamation points in emails. I am good at risky adventurous activity - skydiving, bungee jumping, parasailing, hang-gliding, plane-gliding, rock-climbing, etc. I am told I am a really good listener and am always willing to help others. I am very organized and one of my greatest strengths involves containers, labels, barcodes, scanners, lists, and color coded spreadsheets. :)
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, fun personality, and positive outlook on life.

And I suppose my wheelchair might stand out a little bit :)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Anything by Brene Brown and No Pity by Joseph Shapiro

Movies: Ok so I used to love Weekend at Bernies and at one point I could recite the entire movie. Not so much now. Silver Linings Playbook, Crash, Momento, and really anything that is a romantic comedy.

Shows: So I am a little embarrassed, but it is true....I am hooked on reality shows. If it is reality, I have probably seen it. I also like Criminal Minds, Push Girls, Face Off, American Pickers, Orange is the New Black, the Fosters, Law and Order SVU.

Music: I like almost everything. Among my favorites are: Nervous But Excited, Alix Olson, Indigo Girls, Usher, Amos Lee, Melissa Etheridge, Nickleback, Evanescence, Patty Griffin, Bright Eyes, Damien Rice, Twilight Singers

Food: PASTA and Cheesecake!!!!
The six things I could never do without
In no particular order:
Justice and activism
My son
Nature and sunshine
Personal touch (hugs, kisses, hand-holding)
Laughter and letting loose
Authentic relationships, community
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to make the world a better place. I am always asking how race, class, disability, sexual orientation, gender, etc. play into our everyday interactions, experiences, access to resources, politics, etc. My privilege. Internalized oppression. Shame vs. Guilt. How to make myself a better person. Self-awareness. Community organizing strategies. Building a better world for my son. Accountability. Intersectionality.
On a typical Friday night I am
Relaxing after a long week of work. Usually spending time with my son. Every once in a while I am out with friends for dinner, a movie, or maybe some dancing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Well if I put this here, wouldn't that make it "not so private" anymore? Silly people.
You should message me if
You are interested in me
Your not turned off by my disability
You love social justice
If you have a god, your god doesn't hate
You enjoy traveling
If you play a musical instrument (guitar is my favorite)

If you are not able or willing to examine, acknowledge, or admit privilege you have and how that plays out in your life and relationships then we will not get along very well.

Sometimes it takes me a while to respond, and for that I am sorry. Please don't take any of it personally. Oh and if you only say "hi" in your message, I probably won't respond.
More