Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

melgesgirl

38 F Seattle, WA

I’m looking for

  • Everybody
  • Ages 18–70
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Aug 11
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Sign
Taurus
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Other
Income
$50,000–$60,000
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English, French (Poorly), Other (Poorly), Hindi (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am quite happily in a relationship with a lovely man. I thought about taking this profile down, but I have met a few nice friends off this site. So, if that is your interest, too, feel free to message me.

Self summary...let's see... I'm a terrible speller, a decent cook, a practical romantic, a very good teacher, I have a large collection of smashed pennies, and I don't do well at projectile sports. I look much nerdier in person and I'm fine with that. I am happy to admit to having a big soft spot for smart, geeky-cute guys, Asian, Middle Eastern and Indian men.

I completed a graduate certificate in Indigenous Studies last year and I'm currently finishing up my Master's in Psychology, studying the social and neurological aspects of movement disorders. I am interested in the social-psychological-medical paradigm of the treatment of movement disorders in developing nations.

As people go, authentic humility is very attractive to me. A good sense of humor, lots of adventurousness, kindness and compassion balanced with a little sarcasm, and flexibility are all qualities I appreciate in general. I tend to get along well with men and women between the ages of about 28-45 (not that I have preferences, that just how things seem to work out), who enjoy the outdoors as much as city life, are active physically and/or intellectually, curious, nerdy, and thoughtful.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I spend some time writing, reading, take time with my friends, do volunteer work, go hiking (I just got back from a trip to Glacier National Park), travel when I can, and crew on a sail boat.

Yes, I have one child. It is unfortunate to me that there is one typical view of single mothers (for many reasons) but on a personal level it's because I don't really fit the common category. I see myself as a mentor and protector for him, not an owner. I don't expect anyone to be a replacement father, I just hope to surround him with people who are good human beings. He does not keep me from an adventurous or thoughtful life, he inspires me to introduce him to one.

Just a note for those who might wonder (or wander), I live in Olympia, work North, and I travel between Oly and Seattle often.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Reconsidering things and allowing my curiosity to run wild.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I'm not the kind of girl who would like monster truck rallies.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Literature seems like the easiest place to start. Steinbeck, Jung, Echo, Kafka, Joyce, Nietzsche, Twain, Neruda, Campbell, Forester, Walker, Tolstoy, Gould, Spengler, Nin, de Beauvoir, Goethe, Rilke, Hemingway, Theory of Bloom, Rumi....currently reading Why Nations Fail.

Some favorite movies would include The Spanish Prisoner, Dead Man, Harold and Kumar, most Cohen brother's films, Bulworth, Step into Liquid, Strictly Ballroom, Six-String Samurai, Waking Ned Devine, A Day Without A Mexican, High Fidelity, Gross Point Blank, Crash Course History, Star Trek. I don't really watch TV and haven't had one for many years.

I love all kinds of music, but here is a small selection: Chris Chandler, Gogol Bordello, Mozart, Spiv, Mott the Hoople, Lyle Lovett, Glen Miller, Tito Puentes, Ibrahim Ferrar, Areatha Franklin, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The Greta Jane Quartet, Greg Ruby, Orff. I listen to All Blues a lot and I love the Polynesian Hour on KAOS. I like a great variety of food as well, all though I go heavy on the veggies and very light on the meat.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
I'm just constantly amazed to find out that there are plenty of things I can do without. I'm not sure why it amazes me though.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Punctuated Equilibrium; compassion; other people; where to get a good Potato Masala Dosa; what I can do without in my life; Temporal Lobe Epilepsy and how people perceive it.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My age is not correct on this profile. It's well established that labels skew your perceptions of people and, let's face it, this site has plenty of search parameters which may be keeping you from finding people who's company you enjoy. I have friends of all ages and they bring wonderful and fresh perspectives to my life.

Besides, I already feel I have enough labels. My pictures, however are very recent. I DON'T feel a need to lie about my age. I changed it because I truly don't feel it's relevant and I can't opt out of the question.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
For the obvious reason: because you are nice and you think we might get along...

I'd really appreciate it if you write a little more than a line or two. :)