Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

mellamojordan

29 M Costa Mesa, CA

My Details

Last Online
Dec 20, 2013
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
When drinking
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Entertainment / Media
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English, French (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I grew up in Fullerton but haven't lived in OC since I was 18. I went to school in Santa Barbara and Berkeley before moving to Europe. What was supposed to be a year trip turned into a four-year stint in Paris and Barcelona, where I taught English and then decided to go back to school (in terms of price, you can't beat socialized education! haha).
I moved back to OC in December.
While I still have some really close friends and family in the area, they're all pretty settled--getting married, having kids, buying houses.
I've got a pretty fun social network at work, but I'd rather not date anyone from the office, if I can avoid it.
So yeah, I might as well join my fellow .com-generationers and check out this online dating thing...
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a reporter for the Orange County Register and cover the city of Fountain Valley.
I’m really good at
Bringing people up. Being sarcastic while staying positive. Making people laugh. Being vegetarian without being an asshole about it.
The first things people usually notice about me
I give off a lot of positive energy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Ever since I got on this journalism kick a couple of years ago, I've really gotten into non-fiction, particularly longer-form narrative journalism by the likes of Gay Thalese, Charles Bowden, Juan Villoro and Martín Caparrós.

Now that I'm working so much, I've kind of switched back to fiction. Currently, I've got a major literary crush on Jonathan Franzen. I plowed through Freedom in a couple of days, but am forcing myself to take things slower with The Corrections. Gotta savor it! haha.

I used to be big on movies, but i feel like I'm always disappointed when I go to theater these days. Especially when amazing shows like The Sopranos, The Wire, Louie, and 30 Rock can be streamed from the comfort of my own bed.

I really like theater, and now that I'm living literally across the street from the Segerstrom and South Coast Rep, I'm hoping to go more.

Here's a short list of music, movies and books that I like (gotta keep that OKCupid algorithm happy!):

Music:
Electronic and minimal house, Wax Taylor, Ratatat, Beck, Ed Banger Records, IAM, Beirut, Ojos de Brujo, Goldfrapp, Calexico, Johanna Newsom, Jolie Holland, Caravan Palace, Jurassic 5, Sleepy Sun, flamenco, jazz.

Lit: George Saunders, Bukowski, John Fante, Kerouac, Hunter S. Thompson, Saul Bellow, Horacio Quiroga, Oscar Wilde, Beigbeder, Kundera, Villoro

Film:
David Lynch, The Sopranos, Paul Thomas Anderson, Jim Jarmusch, Irreversible, La Haine, Summer of S.A.M., Pusher, Scorcese, Tarantino, Almadovar, Jean Pierre and Luc Dardenne, Cohen brothers, Bergman...too many!
The six things I could never do without
Family, close friends and Mexican food.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to stay as healthy as possible while having as much fun as possible.

I ride my bike to work a few times a week, I (try to) work out, I go rock-climbing, I shop at the farmers market and eat 90% vegetarian.

But I'm also a very social person that loves inhibition-lowering substances and the occasional mind-altering experience.

Everything in moderation, right? haha.
On a typical Friday night I am
I don't have typical Friday nights.

When I was in Europe, I was more into the clubbing scene. Dancing, drinking, sampling various controlled substances, catching the first metro home in the morning.

I do the whole bars-with-friends thing, but I also do my best to get out of the bubble whenever I can. I visit friends in NorCal and San Diego pretty regularly.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'll tell you more over drinks, how's that?
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–30
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You're passionate about something.
The idea of traveling to Mexico interests rather than scares you.
You're a feminist.