Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

menomea

29 F New York, NY

I’m looking for

  • Men who like women
  • Ages 24–32
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 12:46pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Indian
Height
5′ 0″ (1.52m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Aquarius, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Entertainment / Media
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English, Tamil (Okay), Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
http://www.youtube.com/embed/TozPgBhU4C0?rel=0

Creative, feisty, curious. Highly opinionated but low maintenance. Passionate, quick-witted, non-judgmental. Just returned from an amazing month in East Africa and am already planning my next trip. I can be intense and blunt but I'm super silly and I love puppies and I cry at weddings and during every LOTR installment and I believe in kindness and empathy above all. I'm headstrong, and somewhat idealistic. I can kick your ass in ping pong. I love conversation, debate and getting to know others and what makes people tick, squirm and leap about in fits of exultation. I'm still learning about myself and trying to carve a meaningful path in this world, but I'm comfortable in my own skin. I wear lots of dresses. I frequently have dreams where I punch Bret Easton Ellis in the face.

Why do guys feel the need to answer the "how often do you masturbate?" question publicly? Dudes, I really don't want know the self-pleasuring habits of strangers on the Internet.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Writer and journalist. I ask questions for a living and I wouldn't have it any other way.

I'm a reporter at a pop culture and human interest weekly, and I also freelance for major magazines and their web counterparts on cultural politics, women's issues, labor, dance, fashion, you name it. As cliche as it sounds I love to tell stories--hence I'm still drawn to the dying medium of the feature story, and long-form writing in general.

I general I'm keeping the good people in my life and getting to know others, boxing, dancing, trying to explore the city more, trying to eat more fruit, getting a kick out of viral videos involving children doing adorable things and/or dancing pandas, seriously contemplating grad school and bemoaning my inability to wear matching socks. I love, love, love to cook and eat but don't have nearly as much time as I'd like for the former.

Fortunate enough to consider myself well-traveled. Got more jaunts on the horizon. This year: East Africa and Southeast Asia.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Chatting up strangers and meeting new people, writing, cuddling, calling people on their bullshit, giggling, my job (hopefully), and being modest (obviously). And sleeeeeping.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm tiny and have a giant set of...opinions.

Also, I look much younger than my age. This will come in handy when I'm 40.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: The Kiss of the Spiderwoman, by Manuel Puig. Some favorites: Revolutionary Road, Winesburg, Ohio, Middlesex (yea, and what of it?), anything by Marilynne Robinson, Paul Auster, Faulkner, Forster, Woolf or Coetzee. The Giver by Lois Lowry is a classic, as is Harold and the Purple Crayon.

*I've found that I am terribly disappointed when a guy's favorite authors list on OKCupid is a list of a bunch of dudes. I find that I an terribly disappointed quite frequently.

Movies: "Ray, when someone asks you if you're a god, you say YES!"
"You want a prediction about the weather, you're asking the wrong Phil. I'll give you a winter prediction: It's gonna be cold, it's gonna be grey, and it's gonna last you for the rest of your life."

TV: The Twilight Zone is the greatest television show of all time (glad we go that out of the way). Now that the X-Files is on Hulu I may never leave my apartment. Also: Misfits, House, Happy Endings, The Mindy Project, SVU, Parks and Recreation, 30 Rock, Community (Donald Glover, will you marry me?), Freaks and Geeks, Buffy, Daria, Up With Chris Hayes, Daily Show, The Melissa Harris Perry Show

Food: Everything, and the spicier the better. In particular burritos, burritos, burritos, Indian (Mama's home cookin', y'all) and more burritos. And cheese. Lots and lots of cheese. Preferably when it's chillin' with some macaroni.

Music: Black Keys, Das Racist, Cream, Vetiver, Taj Mahal, SALT N' MUTHERFUCKIN' PEPA
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Besides my family, friends and health? Notebook/pen, digital voice recorder, iPod, Dos Toros burritos, puppies, the 14D bus...I'm throwing in my white sundress, Frye boots and my healthy curiosity for good measure.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Kate Upton's boobs.

Food, Chow Chow puppies, how depressing it is that Two and a Half Men is one of this country's most-watched sitcoms.

How this profile got so long.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Freewheeling. Beer-drinking. Not-heels-wearing. At a casual pub or bar with beer, good friends and good music (darts or board games are always fun to add to the mix) or taking some 'me' time to veg or research/work out more story ideas (and taking many breaks in between to look up pictures of cute animals on the internet). Sometimes dancing. Probably to this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XV5_WagxZg&feature=related

Or asleep.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I once got kicked out of a Hollister for committing an act of journalism.

I'm afraid of revolving doors.

This one time, an elephant sneezed on me.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
(Absolutely under no circumstances message me if you are a Nice Guy: http://www.thegloss.com/2012/12/21/sex-and-dating/ok-cupid-nice-guys-tumblr-best-of/#7)

You want to! You enjoy long conversations and debates over food and/or wine. You don't mistake opinionated women for "bitches." And you won't make fun of me for my terrible jokes or get too embarrassed when I bust out into the Carlton dance at the grocery store. You're not a borough snob (or any kind of snob, for that matter).

No Republicans or Men's Rights Activists. K thanks.

Please don't be one of these guys: http://jezebel.com/5696882/horrible-online-dating-stories-to-keep-you-single?skyline=true&s=i

Or this guy: http://annalsofonlinedating.tumblr.com/post/4398696015/no-idea-why-this-guy-is-single