Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

michayr

38 M Cambridge, MA

My Details

Last Online
Jun 24
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
$50,000–$60,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
These summaries always leave me a little tongue-tied, where to start?
I'm a city person, and especially a Boston person. Last year I returned from an 8 year stay in D.C., and that taught me that - although I can be very happy in other cities - Boston is certainly where I most feel at home. I’m excited to meet new people here --- and hopefully start a relationship with somebody special.
I love food. Cooking, baking, eating, exploring. Whether it is cooking at home or going out, finding great things to eat is always a treat. One of the best parts about having returned to Boston are all the new restaurants and cocktail bars to check out. I’m also a skilled cook and baker – weekends with bad weather often find me engaged in a kitchen experiment – a new type of bread or a complicated ethnic dish. Most recently? Home-made butter croissants.
Aside from creativity in the kitchen, I am also a glassblower. Still a student, but I discovered that glass is my artistic medium of choice. I never thought I was particularly artistic, but it turns out I just needed to find the right (inconvenient) medium to work in.

Confession Time: I'm a geek. Like a real geek. I've been to sci-fi cons, played role-playing games, and am a dedicated (although not fanatical) Apple user. And I'm proud of being a geek. I think I hit most of the good parts of geeky-ness without straying into the anti-social stereotypes. Fit that wherever you will on the geek-dork-nerd hierarchy.
I love to travel, especially when I can do unique things while traveling. I've been to Burning Man, worked on an Archaeological dig, and blown glass in Venice.
What I'm not great at is these description things, but I think this will do for now.
What I’m doing with my life
Settling into where I should be.
Last year I had the perfect job fall into my lap at the same time as the perfect apartment. So I seized the opportunity to move back up to Boston, the city I am happiest in.
So now I'm enjoying where I am and taking all the opportunities I have up here. That means more cooking, more glassblowing, and more learning.
I'm also a very social person. I'm at my best when I'm surrounded by my friends. I have kept in touch with people from all the places I've lived, so I have groups of friends all over the country, and I enjoy traveling both for adventures and to stay in touch with them.
I’m really good at
I'm good at making friends and preparing feasts – the two seem to go together somehow. I'm also good at learning things. Going back to grad school has made me much happier than I was before, and my career at a university lets me continue to pursue that passion.
And although I'm not great at it yet, I'm getting pretty good at Glassblowing. Seriously – if you like shiny objects and paperweights – I am your man.
The first things people usually notice about me
You know, I'm not certain. I'll ask when I meet you.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books, well, authors: Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett, Neil Stephenson, Bill Bryson, Anthony Bourdain. And If I had to pick a few books, They would be Neverwhere (Gaiman), The Diamond Age(Stephenson), and Small Gods(Pratchett). At least those are the books I pick up when I just want something relaxing I've read before.
Movies are probably the only thing that I have a consistent, immutable favorite. My favorite movie is The Fisher King. I just love that movie on so many levels. If you haven’t seen it, I’m always happy to watch it again.
Current shows: Archer, Doctor Who, Top Gear, Fringe, Leverage, White Collar. I no longer have cable, so streaming video gives me a wide variety of things to chose from.
My music tastes wander all over the map. My two favorite artists are Tori Amos and Nine Inch Nails. I also like some gothy music and I've been tracking down electro-world music from as many different parts of the world as I can find.
Foods: Chocolate, cheese, garlic, Indian, Thai. And whatever I decide to experiment with cooking, when those experiments turn out
The six things I could never do without
My computer (avenue of communication, source of entertainment, and repository of everything I've done in school and beyond), my cat, a good down comforter, lots of books, and a good chef's knife with a decent pan to go along with it.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Girls (hey, I might as well be up front about it) – though I’ve been told by a friend I should say “relationships” which is true, but does not quite as funny when I read it out loud. Also, politics, food, random science or history that I recently learned, and (when I'm home at least) whatever ridiculous thing my cat seems to up to at the moment.
On a typical Friday night I am
Sometimes I'm out at a local restaurant or cocktail bar with friends, trying whatever specials are on that night. Other times I'm at home, chilling out because I've spent Wednesday and Thursday out, and need to take a pre-weekend break with a good book or cooking project. I do like to have a plan for the weekend, so I normally spend Friday afternoons planning something fun like a theatre trip or a full-fledged assault on the local farmer’s market.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 28–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you are looking for someone who wants to hear your stories and has some interesting ones of his own to share,

you want someone to try new restaurants or new recipes with you,

you love occasionally geeking out with books, shows, or board games,

you want to know someone who can recommend good but obscure beers,

you enjoy taking long walks through Cambridge and Somerville to explore the city and see what hidden gems we can find.