Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

mikeo_s

33 M Warrington, UK

I’m looking for

  • Guys who like guys
  • Ages 18–40
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Sep 14
Orientation
Gay
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.79m)
Body Type
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Capricorn, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
$40,000–$50,000
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Esperanto (Fluently), German (Okay), French (Poorly), Welsh (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Hello! My name is Michael, I'm 33 years old and a professional geek working in Warrington for a research council. (I don't actually live there, but it's a useful location to put on here.) I'm more than just that, though ... I am also an occasional musician and enjoy spending time with friends and family.

I am amicable, dependable, and erudite. (These come from the days when you had to put three words to describe yourself ... does OKCupid still do that?)
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I work as a Computational Scientist at Daresbury Laboratory, writing computer programs for scientific research that use modelling methods similar to those I used for my Engineering Doctorate at the University of Manchester. The large hard-bound thesis on my shelf allows me to call myself "doctor" instead of "mister". :)

Apart from that, I also play viola, piano and (very) occasionally violin in shows - including proper operas, various Gilbert and Sullivan operettas, rare and not-so-rare Rodgers/Hammerstein and Rodgers/Hart musicals (e.g. South Pacific, Allegro, A Connecticutt Yankee), West Side Story, Christmas panto and variety shows. I have also stepped out of my orchestra chair and waggled a stick in front of people as part of being an MD (Musical Director). I also play percussion for a local brass band, so I also (try to) hit the hell out of mainly tuned percussion instruments at the right times. And as if *that* isn't enough, I occasionally do a bit of composing - usually arranging other people's music but I have written some of my own lately. :)

I also speak Esperanto and go to various events here in the UK from time to time to meet other Esperanto-speakers and practice my speaking skills. I've been to the International Youth Congress in Liberec, Czech Republic, which was my first international Esperanto event ... 'twas a lot of fun and I want to go to some more! :)
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Playing viola, violin and piano (absolutely true - I've been told this after years of practice), doing mathematical-like stuff, completing sudoku grids, giving massages and various other things which I shall not mention here for reasons of taste and decency! ;)

I'm also apparently quite good at matchmaking … I have managed to bring together two couples (one gay, one straight) who have subsequently or will soon get married. :) I just have to work out how to use those powers for myself ...
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My glasses - they make me look intelligent and interesting (hmmm ...), my smile (in spite of what life throws at me, I very rarely stop smiling!) and my perfect specimen of a body (yeah, right! :P).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I'm particularly fond of biographies and autobiographies, plus JK Rowling's Harry Potter series, Douglas Adams' Hitchhiker series and various others too numerous to mention here.

I can certainly watch Cabaret, the Monty Python movies, most Mel Brooks films, Star Wars (although not so much the prequels), a few 'world cinema' films and a couple of slightly weird ones (message me for details).

TV shows I like to watch (especially on DVD box sets) include Doctor Who, Red Dwarf, QI, M*A*S*H, Mongrels, Futurama, Six Feet Under, Sherlock, The Thick of It, The Big Bang Theory, (earlier seasons of) How I Met Your Mother, Mock The Week, Judge Judy, science/maths documentaries involving Profs. Brian Cox or Marcus du Sautoy … quite an eclectic list, I'll admit!

I am an absolute nut for classical music (especially Bach, Shostakovich, Britten, Walton, Brahms, Janáček, Mahler, Bruckner, John Adams and Mark-Anthony Turnage), although I do have a fairly eclectic taste, including cabaret (such as Fascinating Aïda), jazz, big band, the Beatles, Queen and Jamiroquai, Scissor Sisters, Joni Mitchell etc. I also play viola and piano so anything that I can play or I really want to play on the viola or piano is generally something I will want to listen to.

Apart from certain salads, I can pretty much eat anything, although my favourite foods include chocolate, fish and chips, roast dinners, chocolate, fruit-corner yoghurts, fruit, more chocolate ... :)
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. My iPhone - almost certainly my favourite gadget. :)
2. My car - public transport in the UK is so bad, I have to have one to get around and get me to work on time!
3. My viola - keeps me sane and occasionally earns me a bit of money. :)
4. My computers - I need them for work, research, listening to music, watching DVDs etc.
5. My books - they keep me occupied and I sometimes learn something new from them
6. My family and friends - these are the people who I love and who reciprocate with ardour, and sometimes help me do my laundry!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
The silly mistakes I make from time to time, my research/work, music, what to get my family for Christmas or birthdays (there are quite a few of them to buy for!) ... :)
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
relaxing at home ... I need at least one day a week to recuperate from work and music! :P
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Popular songs can pass me by ... I met a member of The Automatic two and a half months before I realised the song "Monster" was theirs. :S This was in spite of its lyrics being referred to in a favourite BBC Radio 4 Dickens-themed comedy series, Bleak Expectations.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You want to, I suppose ... *shrugs*, especially if you're after a new friend who can listen attentively, bring something interesting to a group and is willing to put up with me being around for them - I generally like to stick around through thick and thin if at all possible.