miketrn16
25 Castle Point, NY
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
miketrn16
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hey, I'm Mike. I spent the last year in Britain getting my MA in international relations and came home to write my dissertation. I did creative writing for undergrad and like to write everything from poetry to novels.

Sports have been a big part of my life. I played both baseball and basketball in college, and also played football, tennis, and ran track and cross country in high school. Soccer and hockey are my two favorite sports to watch, though, so I'm into pretty much everything.

I play guitar and sing, but I'm not especially good at music. I do love music, though - it got me interested in traveling and writing, which are two of the most important things to me. I'm the type of person who has a playlist or album for every situation, relates everything to a lyric, etc.

Travel is what I really live for. I've been to 41 countries so far and there are definitely more to come. The goal is to go to each - I figure that'll keep me busy for a while.
What I’m doing with my life
"The future is unwritten." Joe Strummer said that, and it's a nice way to sum up life when you're interested in everything and have no idea what you'll end up really pursuing.
I’m really good at
listening, understanding, and solving problems.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'd like to think it's that even though I'm not exactly an expert on any one topic, I can have an in-depth conversation about almost anything. And my eyes are a pretty cool mixture of green, brown, and gold. At the moment, though, my beard is probably the first thing people notice.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I try not to watch much TV; if I do, I've usually got sports on. I like most stuff on History, war documentaries, and generally educational stuff. If I want something mindless, I love SpongeBob, Pokémon, IT Crowd, Top Gear, and things like that.

Books: I typically like anything about cultures, politics, and day-to-day life elsewhere. I'm also fairly well-read in fiction since I was an English major.

Music: Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, The Clash, Manic Street Preachers, The Who, Guthrie Govan, Bert Jansch, Vivaldi, and pretty much anything folk- or jazz-related.
The six things I could never do without
family, traveling, music, summer thunderstorms, sweet tea, and...pizza.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Chances are I'm planning a trip. I also spend time thinking about what I can do to make an impact, how I can help people more, and what I can do in the present to positively affect my future and make it turn out how I'd like.
On a typical Friday night I am
doing the same things I do any other night: reading, writing, playing guitar, watching sports, learning about life and cultures, and maybe occasionally sleeping.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Most nights, I open and read every link on a Wikipedia article or do crosswords until I fall asleep.
You should message me if
- You want to
- You like to travel and learn about different cultures
- You're into sports
- You love music or play any instruments
- You speak foreign languages and can teach me
More