Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

missmahnee

38 F Minneapolis, MN

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 8:41pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
When drinking
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Atheism, and very serious about it
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Medicine
Income
$60,000–$70,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a good midwestern gal with a twist?

I was born and raised in the twin cities with a brief but influential stint away. Although my name (when you find out what it is) doesn't reflect it, I am Scandinavian to the core. My grandfather was from Sweden and he talked so little I question whether he actually spoke English. I completely relate to Garrison Keillor short stories.

My parents were teachers by trade to I grew up with New Deal, Great Society politics. I maintain many of those values... you could say those values have morphed into an even more progressive category. So if you don't like "liberals" you probably won't like me, although I get along quite swimmingly with Libertarians (I just don't understand their crazy rants about the gold standard).

I've exposed myself to numerous occupational hazards. I've schlepped food and cocktails, run the family business (into the ground), schmoozed with investment bankers, and watched people's loved ones leave this world. Work has been pretty interesting.

The first college degree didn't work out so well as planned, so I took my ass to another city in my late twenties and got another one.

I've traveled all over the world by myself. The combination of all these things has built an amazing cadre of friends -- some with Ph.Ds, some with GEDs -- who have enriched my life more than I can express. And I'm positive all of them think that you should ask me out.
What I’m doing with my life
In my current iteration, I'm a nurse working in the PACU at a large Minneapolis hospital. I have the best hours of my career yet -- I can go to yoga every day (on those motivated weeks).
I’m really good at
-Putting very scared families at ease at the hospital
-Helping with homework
-Eschewing material things in order to save, unusual for women my age. Although having lost my shirt like so many others in '08, I sometimes wish I had just bought that new bike...
The first things people usually notice about me
The pet hair on my black hoodie.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: I hate that this usually turns into a list of songs, I'll try not to devolve into that. My parents were good 60s liberals so I grew up with a fair dose of acoustic, folky, peacy genre. So a little spark lights when I hear an old Pete Seeger or Peter Paul and Mary tune (and a big melt for that Joni Mitchell "Blue" album that's in my mother's basement), although I can't say I choose that now.

I guess I go through musical phases which started when someone in junior high introduced me to the Cure (which I really don't care for much anymore, except for "Love Cats"), sending me into the sad, but wonderful indy, art rock land for the last couple decades. I went through my look-all-tough-unshaven-legs Patti Smith period -- which lead right into my college era riot girlzz Sleater Kinney phase. I had my old Minneapolis band LFTR PLLR phase (and I have quite enjoyed the Hold Steady over the last decade). And then there's anything that Thom Yorke has every done, still love it. When I went to see Radiohead this summer I had that horrible feeling that I was just another old fart paying too much for Eagles tickets.

But throw on your Pandora or Spotify tunes and I will probably have a blast.

Movies/TV: Rushmore!!!!!! Again, I don't want to devolve into list making, but war and genocide are some of my very favorite topics (making it that much harder to get a date) so I love documentaries in addition to amazing feature films. The greatest TV show for me of all time was the BBC series "Father Ted".

Books: I wish I was more well-read than I actually am. I guess that means I should try harder. But I have a strong bent toward non-fiction. I am fascinated by financial crime so I've read numerous books on the mortgage debacle -- just finally read "All the Devils Are Here" which I strongly recommend. Although I think it's lame to pick a "favorite" book, for some reason I just love love love the "Golden Notebook" by Doris Lessing; I've read it 4 times (see I do read fiction too).

My dad was an odd crazy history teacher guy who's business was to keep up on current events. He subscribed to a wide variety of publications, from Mother Jones to the John Birch Society. I've taken that into the digital world and, yes, spend way to much time reading online blogs and whatnot. But because of that I can usually play with the big boys in any topical or historical conversation.

Food: I love food. I've traveled all over the world risking my life just to eat that scary street vendor food that health authorities advise against. And yes, rarely the consequence has been chills, fever, confusion, and endless trips the hole in the ground, but it's so worth it!
The six things I could never do without
1. The First Amendment
2. Intelligent, fun, fabulous friends
3. Passport
4. Laptop and high speed internet (and an aside, the youtube users AronRa and Potholer54 – thanks for so many informative videos!).
5. My kitty cat (well truth told, I did abandon him with my mother when I moved back to the twin cities several years ago in order to have a place to live in the city. But he lives in a rural palace, has total love and care all the time, and I am able to see and snuggle with him frequently.)
6. MPR
I spend a lot of time thinking about
…the financial crisis. I hope that people realize that when I publicly advocate execution for financial crime, I’m just being facetious (sort of). Although I do think that people who handle money have a responsibility as important as medical professionals. Other than a person’s health, financial stability is what really makes or breaks a person. People who handle money need something akin to a hippocratic oath (in addition to regulatory structures, of course, that keep them from screwing us).

I also like to think about cosmology, evolution, the very entertaining political process in the United States, medical ethics, health care distribution, history, and religion. I’m a pretty big advocate of having good lay-person knowledge of topics beyond People Magazine.
On a typical Friday night I am
...working every third, otherwise trying to catch up with friends who have "norm" jobs.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm tempted to make something up here to make me sound more interesting.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 30–45
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating