Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

missmary81

33 F Astoria, NY

I’m looking for

  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 28–35
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Jun 14
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Height
5′ 3″ (1.60m)
Body Type
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Virgo
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Originally from the WI, my career brought me to New York City. I've been here for almost 8 years and have grown to love it, but I'll always be Mary from Wisconsin. You can take the girl out of the midwest, but you can't take the midwest out of the girl!

What is my career, you ask? I'm an opera singer. More on that later. But here's where you're going to get confused.

I'm very easygoing, sometimes shy, always smiling, a goofball, generally an optimist, always looking for something new and fun to do. I love craft beer and homebrewing and would love to have a manly homebrewing assistant that I can order around. Looking to fill that position permanently.

I love the Green Bay Packers, so I can guarantee that during football season I will be at Kettle of Fish with my fellow Sconnies. I hope you don't mind learning to love the Packers. And sharing me with Aaron Rodgers. :D

My ideal guy would also be totally into coming to my concerts and experiencing artistic types of things. It's kind of, um...important. You know you like free concert tickets! No need to know anything about classical music, just a desire to support your rockstar ladyfriend.

I'm pretty good at cooking, and surprisingly really good at baking.
I am an excellent party thrower and hostess.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Lots and lots of singing! Yes, I actually make a living doing this, and I love what I do. My career keeps me pretty busy and there is never a dull moment. Between performing engagements in the city and elsewhere in the country, and a part time teaching job at a university (I teach music theory=nerd), my life can be pretty packed. I am very proud to not be a starving artist!

I'm traveling more and more for work and I'm really enjoying that. Sometimes it's hard to explore when I'm working, but I always try to find some time to run around by myself. The first order of business when I'm in a new city is to find the local craft brewery. There's an app for that.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
-listening.
-making people laugh.
-organizing/decorating
-assembling Ikea furniture
-navigating. I am a human GPS. This includes public transportation.
-making pretty (and sometimes unpretty) musical noises in an organized fashion.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I've often had strangers remark "you can't be from New York, you're too nice!" so, I guess that I'm nice?

I apparently look like Mary Louise Parker.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: The Fountainhead, poetry of Rumi, Cloudstreet, The Art of Loving, Bill Bryson, Garrison Keillor, Devil in the White City, To the Center of the Earth

Music (This is almost impossible but here's a start): The Black Keys, Mariah Carey, Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Rosemary Clooney, Peggy Lee, Sophie Milman, Esperanza Spalding, J Dilla, Mos Def, Common, Jill Scott, The Roots, All music from the 90's (especially R&B and hip hop), Messiaen, Stravinsky, Schoenberg, Copland.

Movies (also impossible): White Christmas, Forrest Gump, A Royal Wedding, Funny Face, Midnight in Paris, Wall-e, Monsters Inc

TV: Dexter, Weeds, Curb your Enthusiasm, Modern Family, Arrested Development, True Blood, Slings and Arrows, Mad Men, The Wire, Shameless, Being Human (UK), Sherlock.

Beer is definitely my favorite food. Oh, wait...
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Family
Best lady friends
Music and all things artistic

Honorable mentions:
-Great Beer
-Dairy
-High Heels
-Ikea
-A super comfy bed
-Good coffee in the morning
- Dangly interesting earrings
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
- what music I have to learn next.
- when is my next real day off?
- why are New Yorkers so oblivious to other people's personal space? This does not happen in the Midwest.
- why can't people move into the middle of the subway car?
- why, God, why do New Yorkers use umbrellas in the snow? Seriously, this drives me insane. (this thought is clearly seasonal)
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I don't think I ever have a typical Friday night, since it's not always a night off for me.

I might be:
-rehearsing
-performing
-having a drink after said rehearsal or performance
-doing something with my roommate or friends
-chilling at home
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm terrified of spiders, and I believe pedicures are a form of torture.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You think it might be fun to get to know me as a friend ... maybe something more.

Dating wise, I'm ultimately looking for something long term, but that doesn't mean I want to get married tomorrow! Geez, calm down! Just waiting for the right man to come along.

Conversation and communication are really important to me (if you are someone who can't pick up the phone and call and you do everything by text, you're not for me).

Aside from that, I also want a guy who wants to make me laugh. All the time. Life's too short to not be having fun together!

If you're a bit of a romantic, that's nice too. :)