Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

mlle_complit

36 San Francisco, CA Woman

Woman

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 29–42
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 6:26pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Aquarius
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Income
Status
Single
Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Speaks
English, French, Spanish, Swedish

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I find it hard to express myself in a tiny text box in the 2D, virtual world. I'm sure that many of us feel this way, but in my case, this apprehension is remarkable for being incongruous with one of my defining characteristics...: I love words in all their wondrous variety, from French literature to bad puns. Not only do I derive immense pleasure from a well crafted story or persuasively argued analysis, my love of words also translates (ha!) into a passion for language-learning — which is, in turn, closely related to my enthusiasm for travel and getting to know other cultures in the intimate way made possible by living in them. Presently, French is my passion and Paris ranks as my absolute favorite metropolis in the world. (Both NYC and SF are also right up there...; in reality, it's tough to compare such unique entities.) This I know from traveling to and living in many places, including: Sweden, Vermont, Spain, Canada, Norway, Tanzania, New Mexico, Central America, New Hampshire, California, Thailand, Japan — the list goes on....

Despite the fact that I travel often and widely, I am also rooted and happy being home. I am originally from Colorado; my parents, grandparents, and other extended family are there (I'm fifth-generation on my mom's side), and my younger brother and I both go home whenever we can.

So, I love discovering new places, and I love returning to Colorado, on the one hand, and Paris, on the other. I also love being outside, breathing clean mountain air, climbing rocks, and hiking with my family (including my 90-year-old grandmother!) — activities that make me feel healthy and alive. (Other bliss-inducing adventures include snowboarding and backcountry-skiing, but haven't been able to do much of either lately....)

In daily life, I find my joy in biking (commuting around town and venturing out on long road rides whenever possible), practicing yoga, drinking creative cocktails, cooking with/eating our bountiful California fresh produce, and wandering/running the streets of SF — mini-adventures on which I generally tend to seek out the summits of Buena Vista Park or Bernal Hill — while listening to the latest Radiolab, This American Life, or Freakonomics podcast to clear my mind after a long workday.

Oh, and I teach and sometimes translate texts. And I read and write a lot. A lot. Well, it's my job....
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
As anyone who is also on the tortuous academic path knows: it can be difficult to see or imagine what's around that next curve.... I'm presently in transition and looking forward to navigating whatever this bend in my road brings.

If I could magically conjure the opportunity of my dreams... well, *one* such possible, desirable future would find me with a professorship at a college or university — ideally in a Comparative Literature, English, or French department at a small liberal arts college in California, Colorado, New York, or the Pacific Northwest (since we're letting my imagination run wild!) or abroad. The strategy behind choosing this career path from the many tempting possibilities was based on the idea that being an academic would allow me to fulfill the most important aspects of who I am: I could live a intellectually rigorous, healthy, ecologically aware, community oriented life in a smaller community that would be both close to wilderness and open spaces, and enriched by the arts. Beyond my personal need for this balance, I see it as essential for my kids to grow up in contact with the wild, but not at the expense of being exposed to diversity of perspective, belief, background, and life experiences.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Well, everyone seems to notice my eyes. They're blue, but I'm told that they have a habit of changing. There's another thing people (uh, guys) tend to notice/appreciate straight away, but I'm too shy to mention it here!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Authors: DFW, Proust, Perec, Joyce, Nabokov, Marilynne Robinson...
Directors: Ozon, Jeunet, Ang Lee, Lukas Moodyson...

to be continued...
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Family — specifically, my brother. He understands me better than anyone else and knows my strengths, weaknesses, hopes, and vulnerabilities. We are close in age and great friends; even though we're very different, we balance each other: he's rational and calm, and I'm the energetic, motivating force. People notice that we're similar in that we both laugh often, try to make others feel at ease, and continually seek out new experiences and challenging situations that will teach us more about ourselves and others. He's my hero.

Being physically active — often outdoors and sometimes at a fairly high speed.

Compassion — for myself as well as others. Plus: gentle reminders about what's important in life.

Art — of all kinds, particularly visual art of the non-representational, gestural, abstract-expressionist-y or minimalist persuasion (e.g. Rothko, de Kooning, Diebenkorn, —also: Frank Stella, Richard Serra).

AND two other more-random-but-still-representative examples:
Wine + cheese — though not necessarily together.
BREAKFAST — most often of natural yogurt, pomegranate seeds, walnuts, cinnamon, and granola.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
-- How proud I am of my little brother, who works as the Director of Post-Emergency Response for an effective medical-aid NGO. (He lived in Port-au-Prince for 3.5 years in the wake of the earthquake.)
-- How odd it is that, as much as I enjoy sleeping and as necessary as it is, I do so little of it....
-- How fascinating and wonderful and perplexing and arbitrary and beautiful life is/can be.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
When I'm not working or traveling to some far-off place, I'm to be found in SF biking around, practicing yoga, cooking, listening to music, watching films — and/or eating at delicious restaurants, going to the symphony, or drinking wine with friends (some combination of the latter three tends to be the Friday night norm).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have an awesome and unusual name. And I can guarantee that 9 out of 10 of you reading this profile would probably *never* be able to guess it... not even if I gave you twenty, or even forty, tries.