Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

mnlightingguy

40 M Minneapolis, MN

My Details

Last Online
Jan 3
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Dropped out of masters program
Job
Entertainment / Media
Income
$30,000–$40,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Has dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Wow, has it been nearly a year since I started this? Strange how the more time passes, the faster it seems to go... Also, as it feels dishonest to me somehow, I can't delete what I wrote previously as it is not untrue, it just isn't as current as it may be. I know this puts me at risk of over-sharing and/or boring visitors, but these are habits of mine in conversation at times, so it's only fair to put that out front.

-----------------

Well, crap. I was hoping things would work themselves out, and I wasn't going to find myself single again, but alas the coin landed the other way up. This is all very new to me and to be honest, I'm a little unclear about where I'm headed with this at the moment, the one thing that I do know is that life is more enjoyable if you have someone to share it with, so with that as a central truth, here goes...
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I started the convention of adding new information to the top of the answer on the last one, and if there's one thing I'm good at it's sticking to a convention... (If there's a second thing I'm good at it would be overusing the ellipsis and parenthetical phrases...)

My new thing this year is riding motorcycle. I had a moped previously, and really enjoyed that, but this spring the idea hit me to move up in the world of 2-wheel adventures, so after less looking on craigslist than I expected it to take, I found my new awesome hobby / mode of transport. So those who have an absolute objection to motorcycles are probably not going to be a match for me anymore... Anyone who has a motocycle and would love to go out riding will not need to twist my arm at all.

-------------------

I am a reasonably successful theatrical lighting professional. I may have traded a bit of my ultimate creative freedom for steady work and a decent income. But in return I don't have too much of the 'starving artist' baggage. I can pay my bills and live a reasonably comfortable life, while still being able to be passionate about my work and not have to have a 'day job,' that only functions as a paycheck...
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Feeling a need to explain my answers to the questions on here. I think I've added explanations to half the questions I've answered (well, maybe not half, but it'll certainly get there...)

Also, being a bit of a perfectionist about projects I work on. This is an advantage and a disadvantage. To the disadvantage side, I will tend to put projects off, cause I know they'll drive me nuts once I start them. On the advantages side, once they're done, it's not likely I'll have to revisit them...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Still really like the Harry Potter Series. Other favored authors include Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett, Douglass Adams...

Movies: Shawshank Redemption, Lucky Number Slevin, most any Coen Brothers', A lot of Tim Burton's, Most of Terry Gilliam's

Shows: House is the only current show, but I got hooked on 24 halfway through the last season, and have been watching that in the instant, and I have gotten hooked on Top Gear lately as well (the British version - and it's more about the humor than the cars, although I would be lying if I said the show hasn't improved my appreciation of the cars...)

Music: The Mountain Goats. Sure, there's a lot of other music that I like, but this is a hands down, unquestioned favorite.

Food: Again, with the theme of unquestioned favorites I'll have to go with Chipotle here. Like lots of other stuff too, but this is about favorite.

Other: Minnesota Frinfe Festival. Favorite. Thing. Ever.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Minor update to the top 3...

1. Minnesota Fringe Festival
2. Motorcycle
3. Light / Dark

And yes, I did just cheat by combining 2 items into 1. I make no apologies, having read a few profile with far more egregious rules violations than this...

--------

1. Minnesota Fringe Festival.
2. Light
3. Dark
4. Seasons. 4 of them. Every Year. No, I won't move to the south with you, so don't ask.
5. Friends/Familly/People stuff, cause who wants to be alone all the time?
6. Food/Water/Air. You know, the stuff that prevents death and all...
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Well, as I work in the theatre, mostly these are spent working. That's not true every week, so when I'm not working I'll usually be relaxing at home. Unless someone wants to go do something, then I'm up for that too (as long as I don't have to dance or sing. It's important to know your limitations and these are mine...)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Okay, this is less private, and more just something odd...

So if you read many of my further explanations you will probably notice that I use 'i.e.' quite frequently, and possibly seem to be making a point of it sometimes. This might seem odd.

This leads to the 'admission' that I am going to make here. I used to use this somewhat interchangeably with 'e.g.' which turns out to be horribly incorrect. The thing that is 'private' about all of this, is that I learned the incorrectness of this from one of my favorite web comics, 'The Oatmeal.' Most of the grammar pages I was able to laugh and feel superior by saying that I already knew that. Then I read this page (when to use i.e. in a sentence,) and was much humbled. By a web comic...
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 25–43
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
Really what I want right now is someone to walk with me and my dog (you can bring yours too, if you want) around Minnehaha park and talk about nothing in particular and maybe stop at DQ for an ice cream cone. And if we enjoy that we can see where it goes from there.