Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

molliebdenim

39 F Durham, NC

My Details

Last Online
Today – 11:51am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.76m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
Trying to quit
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Cancer
Education
Dropped out of space camp
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid, and might want more
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Reading online dating profiles is amusing at times, but also a bit strange and unreal. I wonder about the things that aren't captured in writing or still photos - the heroic moments; the dreams and joy and sadness (because we all have these); the quirks that are equally endearing and exasperating (we all have these too). No one has life all figured out. The people that try hard to convey perfection (or the marked opposite) make me uncomfortable. I want someone who can just be himself, and who recognizes a rough edge as simply that: a rough edge -- not badge of honor or a deep dark secret.

At any rate, here's what is captured in writing for me...

I'm a sucker for a good smile. If you enjoy sharing yours often and sincerely, that's highly attractive.

Overall, I think life and people are (mostly) good. I'm looking for someone who feels the same. I value honesty, laughter, having fun over looking cool, and being genuinely friendly to others regardless of personal gain.

I have a decent brain, and I enjoy using it for engaging conversation, my career, appreciation of art and literature, or learning something entirely new.

I have a child I adore. I share 50/50 custody, which allows for kid-free time to meet for coffee, enjoy a hike, etc.

If you strive for a healthy body and mind - that's great! If your only passion is visiting the gym, we're not a good fit. I like going to the gym - I just like exploring outside the confines of four walls and constant TV screens as well. Oh, and I'm taller than average, so a bit of height is nice but not required.

I like The Monti story slam, improv comedy, theater, and most movie genres (old, new, campy, cerebral, documentaries). Favorite movies include: Wong Kar Wai's In the Mood for Love, Eternal Sunshine, Lost in Translation, Will Ferrell in general, Amelie / Jean-Pierre Jeunet in general, Wes Anderson, Seven Samurai, Miyazaki, It's a Wonderful Life, Breakfast at Tiffany's, Christopher Guest, Pedro Almodóvar, Triplets of Belleville.

My music tastes are reasonably varied, generally leaning toward indie and alt. A sample of today's listening: buena vista social club, the strokes, the killers, franz ferdinand, andrew bird, the shins, the fratellis, trash can sinatras, white stripes, black keys, avett brothers, phoenix, paul simon, madeliene peyroux, portland cello project, george winston, toots and the maytals.

I'm open to a long term relationship, though not interested in forcing anything. If/when I meet the right person, timing and intuition will flow naturally. I don't need a partner to define my happiness or make me "okay", but of course I'd like to meet someone and hit it off as friends or ideally more.
What I’m doing with my life
Breathing, eating, exercising, sleeping, working (trying not to exceed the requisite 40 hours too often), dreaming...
I’m really good at
lots of things. certainly not everything, which means I've got enough to look forward to learning.
The first things people usually notice about me
People comment I laugh often/easily. The rumor is I'm smart, but sadly that doesn't extend to my sense of direction. (My smart phone's map has become an essential crutch.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I start more books than I finish. Just finished Neil Gaiman's "Fortunately the Milk" with my child - highly recommend for kids and kids-at-heart. Just started "The Paris Architect" and "In Between Days". In the past year, some interesting reads include The Favored Daughter, The Servant, Misfortune, a neuroscientist's examination of NDEs, a YA steampunk trilogy, C.S. Lewis with my child.

I like most cuisine, though I don't eat much red meat these days. (I do like it, just don't eat it often.) Favorites: sushi, pho, persian, indian, good coffee (yes, that can be a meal), green leafy things and other healthy finds from our friendly local farmers or my own (sadly neglected this year) garden. Oh yeah, and good chocolate.

I don't watch TV regularly, but I have gone through occasional marathons to watch a season all at once of: Mad men, Downtown Abbey, Orange Is the New Black, Prime Suspect, Modern Family, Parenthood, Walking Dead. I enjoy TED talks, documentaries, John Stewart, Steven Colbert.
The six things I could never do without
Human connection (friends, family, random kindness between strangers)
Imagination
Introspection / the ability to learn and grow (emotionally, intellectually)
Eyesight
Hot showers on a semi-regular basis (negotiable during adventures to remote natural wonders, stone age culture lacking modern comforts, etc.)
Maps
a passport
the ability to count, and break arbitrary rules
I spend a lot of time thinking about
- what I want to do going forward that's new and different. E.g. going to Austria for a summer toboggan run: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iqCkICXWdWI&feature=youtube_gdata_player.
- going on more frequent walks in the woods. Sadly, I've seen more office walls than forest floors in the past year.
- the joy (and challenge) of parenting a beautiful, intelligent, strong-willed child
- places to travel and when to go
- random art projects I want to do and whether they'll turn out the way I see them in my head
- getting another dog. My sweet ol' guy passed away a few years ago. I really miss having a dog. Considering a Great Dane this time, or some other large dog from a rescue organization.
On a typical Friday night I am
Taking care of my child, at the gym, out with friends, enjoying a quiet evening at home... or perhaps meeting you at a coffee shop.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a fan of the oxford comma. And I have bit of a soft spot for Frank Capra films.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 32–42
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You're interested in truly connecting with another person, rather than hooking up or uncomfortable being single.

You don't want to tread water day in, day out. You want to keep learning, exploring, doing. That said, you're not a complete rolling stone (afraid of putting down roots).

You're not the jealous type. You agree that men and women can genuinely be friends without pursuing more. (I have close friends that are guys and girls. If that's an issue, please move on to the next profile.)

And since this seems necessary to say on a dating site: The ability to craft a complete sentence goes a long way too. *smile*

You agree that auto-correction is irritating...but also humorous.

You recognize the reference in my answer to the "STALE is to STEAL..." question.