moviegrrl
45 Portland, OR
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
moviegrrl
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I believe that laughter is one of the great joys of life. Having someone to share that laughter with gives it more meaning. I have a very sarcastic, dry (sometimes inappropriate, okay, mostly inappropriate) sense of humor tempered with compassion. I am open and honest and expect the same from those closest to me.

When I'm not working I like to keep myself creative by taking photographs (okay, I take a lot of them while I'm working, too) and I like to frame them myself. Mostly photos of rusty metal, graffiti and unique perspectives of architecture. I also like to refinish and distress old furniture ( It's a lot of fun even if it does leave me covered head to toe in dust :)

My kids are all grown up so my parenting days are behind me (well, I will always be a parent but they can all fend for themselves now). Which leaves me free to take on any adventure that comes my way.

I grew up camping, climbing trees, riding bicycles and running around barefoot. We also had dirt bikes and went swimming in creeks. I'm no stranger to petting deer in the wild and love nature. I want to get out hiking and camping more. (I'm a great cook over the campfire :) And I'm still trying to go zip-lining!

But I do like my quiet moments, too. And cuddling on the couch watching a movie is much nicer with someone to cuddle with.

I am looking for a relationship. I'm not into open relationships or casual hook-ups.
What I’m doing with my life
Experiencing it!
I’m really good at
Finding the humor in all situations.
The first things people usually notice about me
My height! Although I've been told my smile and my butt rate very high.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I have always been an avid reader. My favorite genres are mysteries, sci-fi and fantasy. I read most of the classics as a child. It's hard for me to lock down just one favorite book but the one that stands out the most to me is called The Bright Forever by Lee Martin.

I love movies and if the story is good then it doesn't matter what genre it is. Although, I am a huge fan of sci-fi and fantasy and that includes campy "B" movies. I've gotten into quirky foreign films lately, too. I'd have to say my all-time favorite movie is The Princess Bride.

I love most kinds of music. But if it's from the 80's I will definitely be singing along! And dancing!

I'm an omnivore. There are very few foods that I don't like.

Television; I hate commercials so I record everything. Current shows; Vikings, Black Sails, Castle, Archer, Legit, Wilfred, Scandal, Hell On Wheels.
The six things I could never do without
1. Laughter. In all aspects of my life. And sometimes at inappropriate times.
2. A sense of wonder. To remember what it was like to look at the world as a child.
3. Experience. Trying (and sometimes failing at) new things. Pushing my limits. Facing fears. Accomplishing goals that I never knew I had.
4. Emotion. Allowing myself to experience whatever I'm feeling.
5. Friends. The saying is true; A burden shared is half the burden, A joy shared is twice the joy.
6. My contacts or glasses. Because I really want to see where I'm going.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How my life experiences shape my reactions.

And, what the Hell is my cat looking at?
On a typical Friday night I am
What is typical? Depends on the Friday. Could be a film screening, could be laundry. Maybe it's happy hour or maybe I'm prepping for work the next day.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I will admit that I hate coffee and I will take pictures of you if you fall asleep on the couch.
You should message me if
You are 6' or taller. I'm not being discriminatory, I'm 6' tall. I'd like to look you in the eye :)
You like what you see in my profile.
You want to find out more about me.
You want someone who will always be open and honest.
You aren't looking for a one night stand or a casual encounter.
Please be active! Hiking, running, bouldering, cycling are all things I do on a regular basis.
More