Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

mpls_duprass

32 M Minneapolis, MN

My Details

Last Online
Feb 15
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm outdoorsy, in that I like nature and wilderness. If I could be anywhere now, I'd be trekking over mountains, skiing in powder, or paddling through the Boundary Waters. But since I can't always get away, I like weekends filled with hikes and bike rides mixed in with urban outings to art museums and neighborhood cafes. Recently I've also enjoyed doing a little volunteer habitat restoration work.

I am a Minnesota transplant, having previously lived on the east and west coasts. Although I love living here, I miss real mountains. Since I can’t ski and mountain-climb as much as I’d like, it’d be great to meet someone who can show me something new, or learn along with me. I recently started rock climbing, and I'm interested in learning open-water kayaking and maybe ice climbing.

I'm a bit of a science nerd. It's my career: I did graduate research on solar energy technology and still work in related areas. More generally, I get great pleasure out of understanding the details of how little everyday things work. But I try to pursue diverse interests to keep myself balanced: I love reading novels, baking pizzas from scratch, cooking vegetable curries, and brewing my own beer. I have an herb garden on my windowsill.
What I’m doing with my life
I've always wanted to be a professional scientist, and I'm lucky enough to have realized that goal. I do research and development for a large, local company. I work on a variety of different technologies - I'll tell you more if you'd like. I like talking about my work, but won't bore you with arcane details if you're not interested.
I’m really good at
Losing things in public places and then recovering them miraculously. Also, I can make delicious pizzas from scratch, start a campfire after a rainstorm, and, in the realm of useless things, juggle.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Here are a few books I've enjoyed recently: The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver, Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes, and Better Angels of Our Nature by Stephen Pinker. I also read a lot of news via the NY Times and the Economist.

I'm not a regular TV watcher, but I like Mad Men, Portlandia, the Daily Show, The Colbert Report, and Breaking Bad (I'm a chemist, so obviously).

I love discovering new music, then going to see it performed live. These days my tastes are mostly informed by 89.3 The Current.

I'm a bit of a foodie, but I try to eat healthy as well (those two things don't coexist as easily as some will have you believe). I cook a fair amount of vegetarian and vegan food for health and sustainability reasons, but still eat meat from time to time. It would be nice, although not required, to meet someone with similar habits.
The six things I could never do without
My camping/outdoor gear (can't pick a single item), my cast-iron skillet, my digital NY Times subscription, my smart phone (I'm sadly an addict), a radio tuned to 89.3 The Current, and (cliche alert!) my friends and family.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My next outdoor adventure (currently skiing in Utah in Feb. and mountain climbing in Washington in May), various cooking/brewing/culinary projects, and science-y things.
On a typical Friday night I am
Trying a new restaurant with friends (Barbette is my current favorite), watching a concert (First Ave. and the Cabooze are my top venues), or enjoying a craft beer at a bar in Lyn-Lake, Northeast, or Cathedral Hill.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Anything I'm willing to share on a 100% public profile is, almost by definition, not private, don't you think? Nevertheless, here are some random things that might (or might not) be revealing: I like almost everything about nature, but I cannot deal with snakes. My personal spaces are often cluttered, but not dirty (there's a difference!). I can be a little spacey (see the above comment about losing things). I think this is okay - it enhances my creativity.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–35
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You would enjoy a night in a tent, but also an afternoon at an art museum. You've read a book recently that you could recommend to me. If you're a morning person, you don't mind that I am most definitely not.

Intelligence and ambition are awesome, so if you have a job that could be your career (or are in school to get there), that's a plus. If you don't have that, I might still be impressed if you have an interesting passion you pursue outside of work.