Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

mrmoose64

59 Silver Spring, MD Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 40–55
  • Near me
  • For long-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 5:15pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Fit
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from law school
Job
Other
Income
$150,000–$250,000
Status
Single
Offspring
Has kids
Speaks
English
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am seven years past a twelve-year marriage and ready to find another long-term partner. I have two extraordinary children who are 12 and 16 and who live with me about a third of the time. I have the world's most enjoyable -- but demanding -- jobs that allow me to write and speak on the issues I'm passionate about, travel around the world, and get excellent compensation. I'm also a bundle of contradictions: a nonpracticing attorney, a self-hating economist, a nonbelieving Jew, a greenish libertarian, and (see below) a world-traveling localista.

My mission is two-fold: To be the best dad I can, and to help communities worldwide "go local."
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
You could say that I’ve become the pied piper of buy-local and invest-local movements around the United States. I've written four books on the subject that have circulated pretty widely among locavores. That's why I'm traveling much the time -- giving talks about the importance of community and community businesses, and supporting entrepreneurs everywhere. Over the past year, I've been on the road almost every other week--to about half the states and increasingly other countries with strong local-economy movements like Canada and Australia. The irony of Dr. Local mutating into Mr. Carbon Footprint has not escaped me, and I'm now thinking hard about how to be home more of the time. Any advice?
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
People who know me well say that my most unique skill is knitting together ideas from disparate fields -- economics, law, science, philosophy, cinema -- in ways that surprise, amuse, and interest people. In my writing and speaking especially, I try to communicate difficult and controversial ideas with clarity, passion, and humor. I'm also a really dedicated friend to the people I've become close to over the years.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm a little klutzy and wacky, my shoelace might be untied, I might have a food spot on my shirt, I probably cut myself shaving -- and, yet, it doesn't matter, because I'm also very sure of my footing, very comfortable in my skin, and very much enjoying life. These contradictions are why I've embraced (since the age of six) the absurd-yet-graceful moose as my totem animal.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I subscribe to about 30 news magazines and three daily papers -- that consumes much of my reading time (and keep my recycling bin full). I tend to read a lot of nonfiction related to my field -- economics and politics.

All kinds of movies appeal -- I originally went to Stanford with the objective of becoming a film director. Oops on that one. But I continue to enjoy oldies, newbies, intense, light, really almost anything except horror films.

I enjoy eating almost anything, except chocolate and venison (see above). On my first trip to Australia in 2009, I learned that I'm not very keen on kangeroo or emu. I'm decidedly not a vegetarian, but I respect those who are.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1 & 2. My children.
3. My laptop, which connects me to friends and colleagues worldwide.
4. A wacky sense of humor, which enables me to work on otherwise depressing global problems.
5. Warm sunshine on a beach with the smell of tanning oil around.
6. Sex.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Lately..
- How can spread local stock exchanges that enable us to get our money out of Wall Street?
- How can I travel less and have greater impact?
- Do I want more or less spiritual practice in my life?
- What kind of relationship makes sense at this stage of life?
- Where can I find a good recipe for BBQ brisket?
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
With my kids (half the time), on the road speaking, or with a date. I hate staying at home on a Friday evening, and even will insist that my kids and I go to the movies or some such....
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Even though I crave long-term intimacy, I believe that at this stage of life -- especially after a dozen years of marriage, especially with children at stake -- that dating, mating, and commitment should proceed slowly. Finding the right pace, not too fast and not too slow, is still something I'm learning about. I welcome your insights!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
None of what follows are deal-breakers, but here's what I know from my dating history: The kind of women I'm drawn to tend to be: HUMOROUS, funny, and able to laugh at themselves; ATHLETIC, healthy, and fit; PASSIONATE about their work and their mission in life; PROGRESSIVE in their politics (or at least contrarian); INTELLIGENT and curious; EDGY sacrilege, and noncomformist; and SOULFUL, introspective, and self critical. They also will realize that the highlighted words make up a silly mnemonic (lest I forget!). I tend to be nervously uncomfortable with women who heavily use makeup, who are very religious, who care too much about what others think, who think Muhammed Atta worked for Dick Cheney, and who are very materialistic.