Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

mthgordon

44 M Newton Center, MA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 16
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly kosher
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I’m a well-rounded nerd, with interests in books (novels, non-fiction, plays, poetry, comics), movies and television (chiefly via Netflix, with something of a preference for science fiction and fantasy), games (tabletop games, console games, PC games, mobile), music (both listening and playing, for my own amusement), science (BS in biochemistry and molecular biology, broader interests) and computers (Masters in computer science, working in the software industry).
What I’m doing with my life
Aside from work, I spend a lot of time with my kids, but I'm looking for someone with whom to spend some of my free time. When I'm not otherwise occupied, I pursue the interests listed in my self-summary.
I’m really good at
I'm a bit of a walking encyclopedia. If a question comes up in conversation, and I don't know the answer, I'm solidly in the habit of looking it up on the spot. Smart phones and Wikipedia are so convenient like that. The real point, though, is avoiding having to look things up in the future.
The first things people usually notice about me
The beard, I suppose. I'm finally catching up with the age people sometimes thought I was when I was in my twenties.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: just about anything by J.R.R. Tolkien, Neil Gaiman, Isaac Asimov, John Scalzi, J. K. Rowling. I'm caught up on A Song of Ice and Fire, but I'm still working my way through Terry Pratchett. I finished the Hunger Games trilogy a while back. I'm also fairly well-read in more conventional literature, especially Shakespeare, and Jane Austen, but it's not always what I do for fun.

Movies: Traditionally, I've listed my favorite films as Yojimbo and Brazil. I'm fond of quite a bit of Akira Kurosawa and Terry Gilliam, plus Alfred Hitchcock and Stanley Kubrick. Star Wars (especially The Empire Strikes Back, by far the best of the films). Star Trek II: The Wrath of Kahn, more than most of the others. Just about anything by Pixar. I'm a fan of computer graphics broadly (ask to see my collection of SIGGRAPH proceedings!) and computer animation and can talk about them to great excess.

Shows: Doctor Who, Firefly, Star Trek (various), Battlestar Galactica, A Game of Thrones, Downton Abbey, Monty Python's Flying Circus

Music: Jonathan Coulton (huge fan), Paul and Storm, They Might Be Giants, Glenn Gould, the Beatles, Marian Call

Food: I have some particular favorites, across a range of cuisines. Indian (shahi paneer korma, chana masala, saag paneer), Chinese (kung pao tofu), Italian (just about anything ricotta-filled), Middle Eastern (pitas/hummus, falafel), Greek (spanakopita), various combinations of legumes and grains. A typical breakfast is yogurt, fruit, and masala chai.
The six things I could never do without
- Some sort of computer. Smart phones and tablets count.
- Internet access. I'm a data junkie.
- Books, whether dead tree or ebooks
- Music
- Caffeine
- my kids
I spend a lot of time thinking about
...the nature of the dating pool at this point in my life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Reading, watching Netflix, and playing various sorts of games are common pastimes when I'm alone. Of course, these can all be social, given the right company.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a metabolic disorder that is associated with lower risk of cardiovascular disease. If you're going to have a metabolic disorder, this is the one to have.

I'm also apparently CCR5-delta32 homozygous, but I'm not going to push my luck.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 29–49
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
...you see geeky interests as an advantage rather than a disadvantage.