Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

musicmaya

25 F Medford, MA

My Details

Last Online
Aug 17
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English, French (Okay), Arabic (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
The brief overview is that I'm going to be a music teacher and/or a classical singer (lyric soprano), I'm a very friendly person who loves good food and traveling when I can afford them, and I'm finally settled enough in what I'm doing with my life that I will have the time to meet fun and interesting people outside of my school and work.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I've just begun the orientation for my very first teaching job! I will be the music teacher at a restart charter (all the same students, new management) elementary school in inner city Boston. The students will arrive at the end of August, but for the meantime, I'm in professional development, learning the program's philosophy and creating the new music curriculum. I expect to be working very hard, but I'm looking forward to bringing the joy of music to new children and hopefully make a positive change in their lives!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Singing and teaching.
... and since several people have already asked, I play viola and violin, I've learned a little cello, and I'm trying to learn piano and guitar. I guess only two of those fall under "good at," but it was an easy place to answer the question!
In order to understand how to teach them, I also learned how to play a little trombone, clarinet, and saxophone last year. Anyone who has ever played a wind instrument will understand me when I say that my mouth/lips were in a constant state of confusion. Three different embouchures plus singing=jaw tension!

Otherwise, I'm a decent cook, I can dance pretty well considering I don't have any training, I can walk in heels like a boss, and I'm a fairly good writer although I can never finish a story (clearly not my career even if I enjoy it). If it's artsy, I can probably tackle it decently, and the same goes for intellectual endeavors. If you don't like smart women, ease on down to another OKC page because I'm not very good at playing an airhead, even if I may have my ditzy moments.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Blond and pale- I don't sparkle in the sun, but I certainly can blind you with its reflection. Aside from my glowing personality (yes I sometimes love bad puns), people generally find me very friendly and warm. Other than that, you'll have to tell me yourself.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: I have a deep-seated fondness for fantasy novels, particularly those of Mercedes Lackey, and of course HP (forever). Lord of the Rings was my bedtime story when I was a toddler, so I was indoctrinated early (I read them in elementary school). I also grew up on fairy tales and mythology. I enjoy many other different genres as well, but those are my go-to favorites. In another direction, I love the poetry of Billy Collins!

Movies: Avengers, Pitch Perfect (what can I say- I was in college a cappella so it's hilarious), LOTR, X-Men, anything with Heath Ledger, Braveheart, Robin Hood Men In Tights, Princess Bride...

TV Shows: S.H.I.E.L.D., Newsroom, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Firefly, Castle, HIMYM, Arrested Development, Veronica Mars, True Blood, Game of Thrones, So You Think You Can Dance, Archer, and of course The Daily Show/Colbert Report.

Food: I love good food a little too much, because it's a big money sucker to eat at nice restaurants all the time, or to cook with really good produce, but it's worth it. I like Asian food quite a bit , whether it be Chinese (Szechuan mainly), Sushi, or Thai (drunken noodles, anyone?). I've lived in Morocco for a semester, so if it's really high quality I love me some couscous or tajine. I also live by the ocean most summers, so I will always appreciate good seafood. Otherwise, I like trying different kinds of food, and I love to spice it up.

Music: I have saved this for last, since it's kind of a big deal around here. As a classical musician, I of course enjoy a variety of classical composers, especially Stravinsky, Barber, Tchaikovsky, and Beethoven, but I am open to any type of music. I love classic rock (Led Zeppelin, Styx, Aerosmith, etc), but I'm more recently fond of bluegrass and folk music. I enjoy dancing to anything with a good beat, so I'll listen to pop if I feel like shaking my tail-feather. Lately I've been getting more into EDM as a friend has taken me to a few concerts, and it's been a blast.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Books
Music
Fruit (the more tropical, the better)
Chocolate
Cheese (Yes I used up three on food I know, but Cabot Extra Sharp Cheddar please)
NPR (I commute forty minutes each way to my classes, so I'm mainlining WBUR)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Music, politics (see NPR)...and shoes, I'll admit it :P
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Hanging out with friends, maybe having a drink or two and watching a movie. Periodically I would instead be dancing like mad in a club, because it's my favorite form of exercise!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm a total night owl, and sometimes I stay up to ungodly hours of the morning for no good reason. Unfortunately for my natural sleep cycle, my new job will require me to be up before 6am. Oy.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 23–29
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're looking for a dancing partner. I'd love to start going into the city and learning some proper Latin dance.
Or if you just think you'd like hanging out with me/trying other fun things together.
Or just because you feel like it :)