Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

nbc216

28 M Shanghai, China

My Details

Last Online
Today – 8:45am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Chinese (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Just getting back to Shanghai after a month or two traveling around the US and Australia. I'm here for the next 6 months, before going back to the US for grad school, and basically looking to meet some people in the time I have left. Right now, I'm just brushing up on Chinese while doing some work for my company back in the US. Any spare time I have, I'm likely looking for live music, art, or good coffee. Anyone interested in any of these things, feel free to message me.
What I’m doing with my life
I graduated from university studying Philosophy and East Asian Studies. Afterwards I moved to China for 2 years to brush up on Chinese before heading to grad school. Somehow that turned into helping set up a sourcing operation over there, and then moving back to do sales management for my business (a printing company). Three years later I'm finally leaving the business world to go back to grad school for Pre-modern Chinese Lit (total opposite end of the spectrum).
The first things people usually notice about me
I sometimes get "why do you look so angry?" I'm not. I just space out a lot, and forget what kind of face I'm making.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Either/Or (Kierkegaard); Dream of Red Chambers (Cao Xueqin); Thousand Cranes (Kawabata); Naomi (Tanizaki); E.B. White (mainly the essays)... I also recently went on a binge with books about food science and cooking theory.

TV: I currently almost exclusively watch Top Chef. But I also enjoy: Mr. Show, Battlestar, Stella, Home Movies, Clone High, Portlandia, Workaholics

Music: Recently listening to
Junip / Jose Gonzalez
Andrew Bird
The Lower Dens
Efterklang
The Flaming Groovies
Broken Social Scene
Damien Jurado
Wye Oak
Dan Deacon
Also this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FpsfeReDlHI (it get's really good at 2:40)
The six things I could never do without
I'm changing this to "Things that I really enjoy":

1) Coffee (I worked as a barista for a few years in Brooklyn)
2) Whiskey (Typically rye and bourbon, but lately I've been trying to learn more about scotch).
3) Tea (I currently have a few kilos of tea in my apartment)
4) IPAs
5) Pickles (somehow I have more pickles than any other food in my fridge)
6) Gifs of animals doing funny things (just because I realized I should have something on this list that I can't eat).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
1) Blue heelers
2) Possible food experiments
3) Puns that I can use to name beer (Recent ideas include a Chamomile infused IPA called "Hops and Dreams", and a Thyme infused Wheat Beer called "Thyme in a Bottle")
4) Art that I wish I could afford
5) Startup ideas (My favorite so far is Hai5.me: a community based service where you can pay nearby members to high-five you in socially awkward moments)
On a typical Friday night I am
Cooking food and/or brewing beer. Or at a concert.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Earlier today I was walking and coughed at the same time a nearby train blew its horn. I paused and then coughed again, to make sure I didn't somehow make the noise.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–30
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating