Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

oaklandjoe

67 M Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 8:10am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Other, and laughing about it
Sign
Cancer, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Italian (Okay), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I wouldn't say that I refuse to grow up – I feel that I've finally done that. I would say that I refuse to become complacent. I'm fortunate to have landed on my feet after the financial meltdown of 2008. The layoff that could have been a disaster put me into retirement that I am enjoying immensely. A little volunteer work here, a blog there, a part-time job more for the social contact and satisfaction than for the money. Freedom to take 11 weeks in Europe – 9 weeks in Bologna studying Italian. I really love Italy and will always want to spend some time there. I would certainly hope that you like it too but it's not essential. Sometimes we could be apart for awhile. Absence can indeed make the heart grow fonder and give us both space.
What I’m doing with my life
Learning, learning,learning. How else can you enjoy life? BTW the blog is at http://www.dreaminginitalian.com/ and provides some further insight into who I am.
I’m really good at
Cooking, fixing things, pushing the envelope (in a good way).
The first things people usually notice about me
Beats me. Let me know when we meet.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Tough call: lately Italian mysteries that feed my Italy habit. Andrea Camilleri in translation and Massimo Carlotti in Italian. Not a book, but the New Yorker always takes me to interesting and unexpected places.
Music: Jennifer Warnes, John Prine, Mark Knoffler, Pavarotti, Zook – I like a lot of variety short of rap and hip-hop.
Food: Italian of course but also lots of Asian – I'm pretty much an omnivore.
Movies: Amarcord, Roma, more recently The Ghost Writer the Tree of Life – the recent Bond and Bourne movies are guilty pleasures. In general the movies that touch my heart are the most satisfying.
The six things I could never do without
Well of course I CAN do without almost anything but I'll give it a shot:
-A loving primary relationship (clearly a work in progress)
-Passport
-Chef knife and gas stove
-Regular gym time
- A car (in the U.S.)
- Berkeley Bowl or equivalent
On a typical Friday night I am
I might be out to dinner or my monthly poker game (3 years now with the same congenial crowd) or might watch a DVD.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 55–65
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
If you're intrigued, curious or just for the hell of it.

A note about the restrictive "I'm looking for" stuff above

1. Women who like men - let's be serious here.
2. Ages - I'm looking for someone to be a partner not someone to adopt, i.e. age appropriate - but you never know.
3. Local unless - similar raging Italophile like me. Maybe we could work something out.
4. Friends? - maybe. Not really the objective here, but again, you never know, eh?