Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

okinoh

44 M Columbus, OH

My Details

Last Online
Today – 2:56am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly vegetarian
Smokes
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English, Latin (Okay), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Still not sure how to describe myself. I try to say yes as often as possible. Life is more interesting that way. I also spend a lot of time reading books, watching movies, listening to music, playing on computers, and having conversations. Oh, and working. (See below.) Now it's summer, I'm excitedly remembering that it is possible to do stuff outdoors in central Ohio.

My username is OK in OH, which means both that I'm an Okie living in Ohio and that I'm doing ok while doing so.

What else to say?

I dig laughing and making people laugh, and other forms of pleasure. Ideally while wandering through a museum or a neighborhood or park or woods or someplace like that.
What I’m doing with my life
I moved to Ohio in 2001 to start a PhD in medieval literature. I'm still working on that. Update: done! Now I get to try to fill the monkey-shaped void that that leaves on my back. Pretty sure I'll figure out something.

When I ran out of funding before I ran out of dissertation, I went and got myself a day job, which has turned out to be a happy accident. I work in IT, but more on the people side than the machine side. Pays decent, engages me 'most every day, plus I work with cool and smart people.
I’m really good at
Words, thinking, finding meaning in stuff, conversation (generally), listening, that kind of thing.

Modesty, humility...

I'm average or better at a range of other things. I decided some years ago that I'd rather be pretty good at a lot of things than the best at one or two.

I can usually make conversation with strangers, and animals like me.
The first things people usually notice about me
I can raise each eyebrow independently, and often do so unconsciously, which people have commented on. I say y'all pretty often. (English needs a second-person plural pronoun!) I bicycle a lot, so I hope drivers notice that I exist.

Otherwise, I'm pretty non-descript: average-sized white guy with brown hair and glasses. I've sometimes thought I should take up robbing banks; I think I'd be hard to identify.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I have spent a lot of time reading, watching, listening, eating, etc.. Hopefully you have too, and we can turn each other on to new stuff.

On your side, all that really matters is that you like something. We can probably find some common ground. If you never read, don't like movies, music, or good food, that would probably be a problem. Or if you're totally anhedonic.

Oh, and The Wire.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Stuff. Things. Ideas. Jokes. What people have said. What people I care about are up to. What they might be up to, if I haven't been in touch for a while. What to eat for my next meal. Stuff I need to do. Something I read. Lust. Why. Why not. Whether. Snippets of music. How to avoid getting run over by cars. Daydreams. The Future. Desire. The next page of my dissertation. Why things are they way they are. How they might be, if they weren't.

It's a pretty constant stream of something, really. I'm rarely bored.

(Why really and rarely are spelled so similarly when they mean such different things...)
On a typical Friday night I am
Happy to be done with a good week of work. Ideally, doing something with friends involving live entertainment and/or conversation over good food. If home, probably watching a movie while doing some kind of computer thing, or (if I've decided to make it a digital sabbath) reading a book. Also a happy answer: getting on a plane to go somewhere.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
To whom? The Internets? Nothing beyond what I've written above, for sure. To friends? Almost anything. To the few I truly trust? Anything.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 28–48
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating