Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


41 Seattle, WA Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 24-42
  • Near me
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating, casual sex

My details

Last online
Yesterday – 10:20am
Relationship Type
Mostly non-monogamous
6' 2" (1.88m)
Body Type
Atheism and it’s important
Post grad
Might want kids
Has dogs and Has cats
English (Fluently)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm smart, eccentric, kind, funny, honest, creative, intense, giving, active, loyal, and generally pretty darned resilient.

As my tangled path through a tulgey wood has had its ups and downs, I've learned a few things, not always easily, and am hence the better person for it. To wit, I know that I'm happiest when I have a delightful partner in my life to grow with, learn from, lean on and support reciprocally, so I'm hoping to sincerely and deeply connect with another soul on this, a splendid winding tramp through the damp northwest woods.

At my side already is a strange & delightful dog, who eased into my life, a victim of circumstance, becoming both my shadow and my dear friend.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I've struck a careful balance between my work and play and do so in an incomparable community of like-minded folk. I am striving to make fabulous things happen, preferably by organizing hordes of people to go do things grand and ridiculous. I prize play and experience. I am an extremely willing student and a natural

I'm living in a huge old house on Capitol Hill with eight
friends, though one of them is a newborn (not mine), and I'm
assuming here that we'll be friends once she's old enough to make such judgements. We've all moved in together about 3 years ago to share in each other's lives, including raising kids. I like to say we're co-domesticating. While this arrangement continues to exceed my expectations, I suspect potential partners will have reactions varying anywhere from skepticism to delight. I like to imagine I just come with a bunch of really good baggage included...

I'm working hard at my career (Engineering) these days, but I try
not to let it take over my life. Mostly, I succeed. Hopefully, I'll be able to get off the (rat) race track, and explore a few other roads someday -- but the race is fun right now, so there's no rush.

I'm pretty into the whole Burning Man thing, though after a
decade of going, it's turned into a much more complicated
relationship. Much like I didn't with skydiving in my 20's, I
don't confuse (as many do) my passion with hobby/community with my own identity. I find the my community essential and precious, with Participants committed to creativity, learning, sharing, experiencing, co-creating and generally manifesting a closer-knit-than-bog-standard lifestyle for each other. This affords me many opportunities to create and lead, which I do often, sometimes with abandon, and fortunately, usually with success.

I strongly believe that one should never stop learning. Right now, I'm trying to learn to Kitesurf and play the bass guitar. Both are awkward, complicated, and powerful -- in other words, a total hoot to spend time on.

I had but recently thought I was headed post haste into raising-my-own-kid haste, but now I beleive I'm open to other potential narratives. I'm going to get to help raise at least 1 child in my house, probably more (another is on the way!); perhaps circumstances will conspire to again allow & entice me to try to raise my own here too. Time will tell.

My last two Relationships(tm) have been poly to varying degrees. I'm pretty sure that some form of this will continue to be
something I prefer in my serious relationships... Know that I take
it seriously, introspectively, and carefully. But, know also that everything is negotiable -- everything, including this preference.

I have a strong regular yoga practice. (Again, mostly.)

And I *love* to make people laugh.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
learning, teaching, skiing, juggling, bridge, cycling, running, laughing, reading, cooking, managing, DJing, skydiving, costuming, communicating, trusting, ranting, raving, playing, snuggling, sleeping, speaking with an accent, whistling with my hands, public speaking, ...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
All of these lists (except movies -- though I enjoy them, I don't watch many these days) could go on almost forever.... Nevertheless I shall persevere...

Books: Infinite Jest - David Foster Wallace, The Play of the Hand at Bridge - Watson, Diamond Age - Stephenson, HHGttG - Adams, American Pastoral - Roth, Still Life with Woodpecker - Robbins, Catcher in the Rye - Salinger, Charlie & the Chocolate Factory - Dahl, PIKHAL - Shulgin, Life After God - Copeland, Cowboys are my Weakness - Houston, Enders Game - Card, ... (Oh, and the New Yorker is my magazine of choice...)

Movies: Dr. Strangelove, Pulp Fiction, Heathers, Go, Blade Runner, Up, ...

Shows: While I've enjoyed a few series like Deadwood, Battlestar Galactica, Babylon 5, and the like, my home has no dedicated TV; it is a very low priority.

Music: (I've had a strongly electronic bent for the last decade, but I am fairly open minded to most things; this list is wildly incomplete.) Psytrance, Shpongle, Thievery Corp, Random Rab, Younger Brother, Phish, Shostakovich, Dire Straits, Moxy Fruvous, Cake, ELO, Rush, Simon & Garfunkel, Indigo Girls, Bach, Postal Service, ... ( & Groove Salad on somafm are in heavy rotation on the streaming station front) (I admit to having a hard time with most punk and hiphop -- I'm not an angry person, and I don't sync well with music that is.)

Food: Chilis, anchovies, avocados, beets, biscuits, okonomiyaki, tamales, sushi, pho, lamb, you-name-it, really... I've been running low-carb this year, and it's been a great change. Lately, it's been all about scrambling eggs in duck fat and olive oil.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
trust, rhythm, Google Reader, witty banter, spreadsheets, & a warm heavy duvet.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
community, Cloud Computing, and glowing juggling balls.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
frequently at home chilling and playing music.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm reacquainting myself with my inner introvert. Weird. I thought he was an aberration, a maladaptation... now I just don't know.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
* you are looking for a either an occasional *or* potentially long term partner in crime. (imho, relationships of value can come in all durations from days to lifetimes.)

* you have something (or many things) to teach & share... I am certain to return the favor.

* you are not an INFP (meyers-briggs); my recent experience with such makes me think I need to be around E's and T's a little more, though a sufficiently self-aware INFP might be okay, because (darn it!) they are so wonderfully passionate.

* you are naturally verbally inclined (scrabble, improv, banter, etc)

* you want to learn to kiteboard/kitesurf -- company would be grand!