Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ostar99

50 M Ottawa, Ontario, CA

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 41–55
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Aug 31
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity
Sign
Virgo
Education
University
Job
Politics / Government
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a nice, calm, honest, decent guy who is looking to find friendship ... and eventually love ... with someone who shares the same qualities and isn't in to drama and maintenance issues. My aspirations are pretty straightforward ... to find a person who I connect with on many levels, starting with chemistry and personality (obviously) and then ensuring that we share a good balance of interests and activities, going forward. I have no agenda per se, other than to take it slow and build a great relationship together.

I enjoy a number of activities ... in the summer, it's biking, hiking, spending time around the lake boating, swimming and sharing some patio philosophy; in the winter, it's skiing, skating and snowshoeing. Year-round, I enjoy theater, orchestra, fine dining, getting out to the movies, listening to music (anything but country or extreme rock) and reading. Pretty well anything works for me ... and sharing it with a friend makes it 3 times better !!

I do work to maintain a healthy balance between work and private life. I have a very good job in the Federal Government. I also stay in good shape ... but no, I'm not a marathon runner or go to the gym every day like some on here ... 3 to 4 times a week is sufficient, plus yoga, to maintain good form and strength. I also enjoy helping others to improve and realize their goals in life. I cherish my friends ... quality (not quantity) is the most important part.

I should also mention that one of the most important parts of my life are my four kids. Although they don't live with me full time (I get 2 most weekends) we are very connected and I do give them my time in their school and extra-curricular activities. Not to say that I don't have my own time as well ... I definitely do !!

There's just a couple of things I'm not very keen on (apart from an unresolved past) ... these include tattoos (small cute ones are ok), smoking (apart from the odd cigar), not being able to hold an intelligent conversation for longer than 5 minutes (sorry, I'm really not snobby) being more than 50 miles from Orléans, Ontario (I'm not looking for a long-distance relationship) and those that could be described by a third-party (or close friend) as a "gold-digger" ... we all know what these are, and I already gave enough to that "charity" before.

In summary, I'm a sincere and serious guy who is not into any games of any kind. I'm "just" looking for intelligence, honesty, communication, respect and a warm heart, with a fully resolved past. A tall order to fill, but I know that she is out there, with whom a great relationship awaits us both.

If you think you might like the same, please drop me a line and see where it takes us. I answer every reply honestly and promptly. There is none of that "I will reply to you only if I'm interested" disrespect here (far too common on these dating sites). I have manners and integrity and don't hide behind my profile.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Working hard at being the best father I can be, making a difference in the world, being a great friend, and finding my next, best ... and last ... lifelong relationship.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Being compassionate, forgiving, and respectful of others; raising my children to be everything they can be; coaching and mentoring others; innovating and constantly seeking to improve my life.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm tall and have a strong presence ... and a big smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books:

Classics ...
One Hundred Years of Solitude
Nineteen Eighty-Four
The World According to Garp
War and Peace

More recents ...
The Kite Runner
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
Gone Girl
The End of Normal
Complexity: A Guided Tour

Movies:

Classics:
The Godfather - the entire series
Anything by Stanley Kubrick
The Grapes of Wrath
Metropolis

More Recents:
Anything by Quentin Tarantino
Anything by Clint Eastwood
Life of Pi
Life is Beautiful
Saving Private Ryan
The Silence of the Lambs

Shows:

Classics:
Anything by Le Cirque du Soleil
Anything by Andrew Lloyd Webber
Anything by William Shakespeare

More recents:
War Horse
Wicked!
Les Misérables
Chicago

Music:

I enjoy all eras and types of music, except for old twangy Country and any type of violent/extreme Rap and Heavy Metal. At the moment, I would say my top 10 are:

Train
Deadmau5
Iron & Wine
Kings of Leon
One Republic
The Fray
Colbie Caillat
Jason Mraz
Maroon 5
Neon Trees

Food:

My palate is completely international. I love all types of food from across the world. French, Italian, Indian, Carribean, Thai, Japanese and Chinese are some cultural examples; seafood, sushi, steak, anything with curry or any other interesting spice, vegetables of all kinds are but some examples of food choices. I always love a good BBQ or stir fry. And it all goes down so well with a great bottle of wine, which is a whole other list I could add ... again, I love all varietals (red and white) from across the world ... Wine is a great passion and study of mine.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My children
My friends
Good food
Good wine
Fresh air
My iPhone
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How my children are doing, what's going on in the world, and what I want to do this weekend.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Either hanging out with my kids, or hanging out with friends and winding down from a hectic week. It depends on what the plans made earlier in the week call for. In either case, I'm having a great time.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I suppose that I like a lot of the music that my kids listen to. Some of it is pretty good !!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You are kind, compassionate, respectful of others, humble, love children (FYI mine are just finishing grades 7 and 5, but are very mature for their ages), listen as well as you hear, have a completely resolved past, avoid drama in your life, and are seeking adventure and a lifetime of commitment. If that describes you, and you like what you have read to this point (thank-you !!) I would love to hear from you.

As I have stated before, be assured that I answer every message that I receive. That is just basic respect and common decency. I find so many on this site feel that simply ignoring someone that has taken the time to compose a thoughtful message to them is an "appropriate" answer. Nothing could be further from the truth. IMHO that is simply ignorant and wrong. There isn't any of that here.

Also note that I have taken the time to answer every one of the questions on this site (seriously !!) ... and new ones as they come up ... I think there are approx. 3800 of them in total. Match scores (overall, friend, enemy) are based on our answers to these questions, so the more of them we answer the closer our scores should be to "reality". I have answered every one of them honestly (of course) and there just a handful that I have chosen not to post my answer to publicly. That said, you can learn quite a bit about me from my answers, if you are so inclined. They do cover quite a wide variety of topics and viewpoints. I'm an "open book" so if there is anything else you want to know about me (within reason, of course) just ask !!